Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lenhardt Library of the Chicago Botanic Garden Digitized Collections: Women Artists & Illustrators

Exhibitions

Feminine Perspective: Women Artists and Illustrators

Leora Siegel

October 30, 2013  

Rigid-Leaved Gorteria. Henrietta Maria Moriarty. Page 31.

ILLUSTRATION: Rigid-leaved Gorteria (Gorteria rigens). Rigid-leaved gorteria (Gorteria rigens) by Henrietta Moriarty from the Rare Book Collection of the Lenhardt Library of the Chicago Botanic Garden.

As I compiled the latest rare book exhibition at the Lenhardt Library, I got to know several fascinating women from the past. They were among the first women to be recognized as botanical illustrators, and their work opened doors for generations of women to follow.

The exhibition, Feminine Perspective: Women Artists and Illustrators, running through November 10, traces the development of women in the field of botanical illustration from at-home hobbyists to professional artists who were published under their own names, with their works represented in the respectable journals, displayed in galleries and art shows, and accepted professionally.

For Henrietta Moriarty who published in 1807 London, botany was a moral dilemma. The renowned botanical theory of plant classification by Carl Linnaeus discusses plant reproduction and reproductive plant parts; the material was decidedly not appropriate for a proper Victorian woman and outright dangerous for a young girl. Moriarty solves this moral dilemma by writing and illustrating her own book, Fifty Plates of Green-House Plants, Drawn and Coloured from Nature, with concise descriptions and rules for their culture. Intended for the improvement of young ladies in the art of drawing, second edition, 1807. Her 50 botanical illustrations are each hand-colored and focused on the beautiful flower with a botanical description but lack any discussion or representation of plant reproductive processes. Moriarty, a widow with children, needed to support her family and found writing and illustrating a botany book to be productive. She presold 180 copies by subscription.

 

 View each page of this lovely book online at the Illinois Digital Archives. http://www.idaillinois.org

Italian Pimpernel. Henrietta Maria Moriarty. Page 49.

ILLUSTRATION: Italian pimpernel (Anagallis monellis). Italian pimpernel (Anagallis monellis) by Henrietta Moriarty from the Rare Book Collection of the Lenhardt Library of the Chicago Botanic Garden

To hear more stories on the personal circumstances and the success of women in botanical illustration, come into the library!

We’d love to share more about these illustrators and more:

  • Lady Harriet Ann Thiselton-Dyer (1854 – 1945)
  • Henriette Antoinette Vincent (1786 – 1834)
  • Ellen Robbins (1828 – 1905)

Hyacinth. Etudes de fleurs et de fruits by Henriette Antionette Vincent. Page 14.

Illustration by Henriette Antoinette Vincent (1786 – 1834)

  Scrub Oak. Autumnal Leaves by Ellen Robbins. Page 9.

Illustration by Ellen Robbins (1828 – 1905)

 

For a schedule of upcoming exhibitions and library talks, http://www.chicagobotanic.org/library/exhibits

©2014 Chicago Botanic Garden and my.chicagobotanic.org

Henriette Antoinette Vincent (1786-1834)

  White Rose; Roses. Etudes de fleurs et de fruits by Henriette Antionette Vincent. Page 38.Lilac. Etudes de fleurs et de fruits by Henriette Antionette Vincent. Page 29.Narcissus; Yellow Daffadil. Etudes de fleurs et de fruits by Henriette Antionette Vincent. Page 36.

Illustrations: Henriette Antoinette Vincent

Ellen Robbins (1828-1905)

  Title page. Autumnal Leaves by Ellen Robbins. Page 2.Sumac. Autumnal Leaves by Ellen Robbins. Page 4.Maple. Autumnal Leaves by Ellen Robbins. Page 6.

Illustrations: Ellen Robbins

Helen Sharp (1865-1934)

Cypripedium.. Cypripedium arietinum R. Br. Volume 3, Page 2.Moonwort. Botrychirum obligatorium muhl. var. dissectum, Volume 1, Page 7.Water Lily. Castalia odorata. Volume 6, Page 5.

Illustrations: Helen Sharp

[Water-color sketches of plants of North America and Europe], 1888 June-1910 Sept.

Eighteen albums of water-color sketches by Helen Sharp of flowering plants and shrubs common to the United States, especially New England, as well as to Bermuda and parts of Europe, dated between June 1888 and Sept. 1910. Sketches in water-color and ink on paper (26 x 18 cm. or smaller) include botanical captions in Latin, along with Sharp's notes on the common name and physical characteristics of each plant, and location and date of drawing. There is also a table of contents at the front of each sketchbook. The first 16 albums contain sketches of plants common in New England, in towns of Massachusetts such as Nantucket, Taunton, Boston, No. Andover, Marblehead, Hingham, Gloucester; Maine (York, Sorrento); New Hampshire (Surrey), and Connecticut. Volume 17 contains sketches of plants made by the artist while traveling in Switzerland, Italy, England, and France, while v. 18 contains sketches of tropical fruits and flowers of Bermuda, completed during Sharp's visits of 1892, 1893, and 1903.

"These drawings were made from nature by Miss Helen Sharp, and have been used in part in the botanical classes of the Lowell Free Courses of the Teachers' School of Science [of the Boston Society of Natural History] ... This collection includes sketches of about seven hundred species ... arranged in accordance with the classification in Gray's Manual"; cf. printed announcement of an exhibition of Sharp's drawings at the Boston Society of Natural History in April 1899 affixed to inside front cover of v.1.


Publications about Helen Sharp

Siegel, Leora. (2019). Miss Helen Sharp: Botanical Artist, Botanist, and Services Supporter. The Botanical Artist: Journal of the American Society of Botanical Artists, v25 (3), pp. 32-33.

Biodiversity Heritage Library September 23 at 6:00 AM ·  The 18 watercolor albums of botanical artist Helen Sharp include about 1,000 compositions drawn between 1888-1910. In her compositions, Sharp also included background pencil sketches depicting flowering plants, leaves, or seeds, as well as labels with Latin botanical and common names, geographic locations, and dates.  All 18 of Sharp's albums, held in the collections of the Lenhardt Library of the Chicago Botanic Garden, have been digitized and are freely available in BHL ➡️ https://s.si.edu/31Fd0zQ  Sharp's talent was recognized during her lifetime. In the early 1890s, she served as a classroom assistant for a teacher training program in botany, organized by the Boston Society of Natural History. She was elected a member of the Massachusetts Horticultural Society in 1898 and exhibited her works at the Boston Society of Natural History, Boston Public Library, and Brookline Public Library.  The first 16 albums contain sketches of plants from Sharp's native New England. She also traveled throughout Europe and Bermuda, and plants from these regions are the subject of albums 17 and 18 respectively.  The September 2019 issue of "The Botanical Artist" from the American Society of Botanical Artists features an article on Helen Sharp by Leora Siegel (Senior Director of the Lenhardt Library and the Chicago Botanic Garden partner representative to BHL): "Miss Helen Sharp: Botanical Artist, Botanist, Social Services Supporter". Information in this post was sourced from this article

Sharp, Helen. Water-color sketches of plants of North America and Europe. v. 18 (1888-1910). Contributed in BHL from Chicago Botanic Garden.Sharp, Helen. Water-color sketches of plants of North America and Europe. v. 5 (1888-1910). Contributed in BHL from Chicago Botanic Garden.

Sharp, Helen. Water-color sketches of plants of North America and Europe. v. 7 (1888-1910). Contributed in BHL from Chicago Botanic Garden.Sharp, Helen. Water-color sketches of plants of North America and Europe. v. 8 (1888-1910). Contributed in BHL from Chicago Botanic Garden.

Illustrations: Helen Sharp

Library Director

This guide provided by CBHL