BRIT Library subscribes to JSTOR and JSTOR Global Plants, "a growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world." Both databases are available for you to search while on campus without having to log in.
If you're interested in searching these databases outside of the BRIT building, contact Ana for login credentials.
International Plant Names Index (IPNI) - A searchable database of information on plant nomenclature, authorities, and author publications.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) - Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes.
PlantSystematics - A Diversity of Life (DOL) website that provides images, cladograms, keys, and other taxonomic data for plant species.
Native Plants of North America - The most comprehensive database of native plants for North America.
The PLANTS Database - Plant List of Accepted Nomenclature, Taxonomy & Symbols from the USDA provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Useful Links for Neotropical Flowering Plant Identification - An extensive list of links to literature references, name indexes, specimen databases, taxon sites, floras, and geographical resources, presented in a 2013 Field Museum Blog post.
World Flora Online - An online database of all known plants: bryophytes, pteridophytes, gymnosperms and angiosperms.
The Center for Plant Conservation - The CPC is a network of over 60 partners that work to save the imperiled plants of the United States and Canada.
Checklist of CITES Species - A checklist of all CITES species.
CITES Appendices - Appendices I, II and III to the Convention are lists of species afforded different levels or types of protection from over-exploitation
IUCN Red list of Threatened Species - A comprehensive source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
Index Seminum - A seed and seed cataloging index in which participating institutions provide seed catalogues annually or biennially of wild or cultivated origins, circulating these lists to other botanical institutions.
Species+ - A centralised portal for accessing key information on species of global concern, or species protected under multilateral environmental agreements like CITES and CMS.
ArbPIX - The Arnold Arboretum’s plant image database of historical and contemporary images of accessioned plants.
Botanical Illustration Resources - A selected guide to resources for illustrators, historians, and collectors
Flora of The World - Images of flowering plant families in their native habitats, especially within biodiversity hotspots.
Forest images - A joint project of The Univ. of Georgia, Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health, US Forest Service, International Society of Arboriculture, and USDA to document forest trees and plants, diseases, pests, silviculture, and urban forestry.
Massachusetts Horticultural Society Library Botanical Prints - Presents more than 1,000 botanical prints dating from 1620 to 1969.
Native Wildflowers Image Database - Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center's collection of 70,015 images of plants native to the US and Canada.
PlantIllustrations.org - A searchable database that provides habit photographs of plants as well as botanical illustrations held in the public domain.
PhytoImages - A Diversity of Life (DOL) website providing images provides images of over 10,000 flora and fauna species, which can be explored by order or searched based on taxon name, common name, and/or region and geography.
Plant Systematics - A Diversity of Life (DOL) website that includes over 26,000 images of vascular plants.
USDA Plants Image Gallery - Emphasizes photos and line drawings of U.S. plants but also contains many cultivated or foreign taxa.
Shinners & Mahler's Illustrated Flora of North Central Texas Online - Published by the BRIT Press in 1999, this is the most comprehensive guide to a large portion of the diverse plant life of Texas and covers all the native and naturalized vascular plants known to occur in North Central Texas.
Real Jardin Botanico Digital Library - More than 7,500 books and journals pertaining to Iberian, Latin American and Philippine flora from the Royal Botanical Garden's Library.
German botanical journals, 1753-1914 - A collection from The Johann Christian Senckenberg University Library in cooperation with the BGBM - Botanical Garden and Botanical Museum Berlin-Dahlem.
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica - The National Library of Spain has digitized many natural history and botanical texts.
Gallica - The digital library of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France (BnF), providing access to hundreds of French botanical and natural science works.
Linnaeus Link - Provides a comprehensive, online Union Catalogue of Linnaean publications from an international collaboration of libraries, designed to facilitate research by locating titles with a single internet search.
Bibliotheca Antiqua - Offers images of 2.500 books on the healing use of plants, including pharmacology, chemistry and medicine.
Classic Herbal Texts - Collection of nineteenth and early twentieth century herbal and medical botany texts.
Curious Herbals - A series of exhibits from the National Library of Medicine's collection of herbals from the Middle Ages to the 20th century.
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) - A global consortium of natural history libraries digitizing the literature of biodiversity dating from the 15th century.
BIEN, the Botanical Information and Ecology Network - A network of ecologists, botanists, and computer scientists working together to document global patterns of plant diversity, function, and distribution.
Biota of North America Program (BONAP) - Provides in-depth information on the entire vascular flora of the continent north of Mexico, as well as for Hawaii and Puerto Rico.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) - An international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
Native American Ethnobotany - A database of plants used as medicines, drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by Native Peoples of North America, all searchable by tribe.
Tree of Life Web Project - Through more than 10,000 pages, this collaborative effort provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
Cyberliber, an Electronic Library for Mycology - Provides extensive bibliographic information for mycological publications, most dating from the early 1800s to the 1980s, and covering many works in Russian and Ukrainian.
Mushroom Observer - A portal that aims to help people record observations about mushrooms and to identify different types of fungi, including lichens.
Index Fungorum - A searchable index based at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew of accepted nomenclature for global fungi.
AlgaeBase - A global database of taxonomic, nomenclatural and distributional information on terrestrial, marine and freshwater algae, including taxa part of the lichen symbiosis.
Index Nominum Algarum and Bibliographia Phycologica Universalis - Based on card files at the University Herbarium, Univ. of California, Berkeley, the index contains nearly 200,000 names of algae.
International Code of Nomenclature for Algae, Fungi, and Plants (ICN) - Hosted by the International Association for Plant Taxonomy, the Code is the set of internationally agreed rules and recommendations that govern the naming of algae, fungi, and plants.
Algae - U.S. National Herbarium - The Algal Collection of the U.S. National Herbarium contains some 300,000 specimens described.
U. S. National Fungus Collections (BPI) - Provides access to over one million fungal specimens worldwide with a combined search of: fungus-host distributions, literature, nomenclature, and the index to Saccardo's Sylloge Fungorum.
PalDat - Palynological Database - An online publication on recent pollen, it is the world's largest database for palynological data.
Pollen Terminology - Provides a compendium of glossary terms and basic principles in palynology, illustrated with light and electron microscope images from the PalDat database.
GRIN Taxonomy - The taxonomic portion of the Germplasm Resources Information Network database, GRIN-Global, provides the classification and nomenclature for its germplasm accessions, genetic resources and many other economic plants on a worldwide basis.
Index of Botanists - Authors of plant names, botanical and mycological collectors, and authors of publications of importance to systematic botany and mycology, are combined into a single searchable database.
AGRICOLA, National Agricultural Library On-Line Catalog - This NAL database covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant sciences, forestry, farming, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections - Consists of collections of full-text historical documents on the agricultural and food sciences.
Internet Archive Digital Texts: Botany - Contains thousands of classic works on botany, horticulture, gardening, and related fields.
Index to American Botanical Literature - Consists of citations for botanical publications published since 1886.
BPH Online - An index of natural science periodical title abbreviations.
Yale University Research Guide to Botany and Plant Science Journals - Provides an index and links to the most popular e-journals published electronically on botany, plant sciences, and plant biology.
Botanicus - Bibliographic Database - A freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature, focusing primarily on illustrated volumes from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library’s rare book collection.
Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries (CBHL) - Provides an international directory of member botanical and horticultural libraries and their online catalogs.
HOLLIS - Non-circulating reference collections that are world-wide in scope and include many rare copies and special editions, along with associated archives and digital resources.
Peter H. Raven Library, Missouri Botanical Garden - The MOBOT library has comprehensive print and digital collections with emphasis on plant taxonomic literature, current and retrospective, collected in all languages.
LuEsther T. Mertz Library, New York Botanical Garden - Supports research and study in the fields of botanical science, horticulture, and landscape/garden design.
Royal Botanic Garden Kew Library - A comprehensive collection of botanical literature.
Taxonomic Literature II (TL-2) - A selective guide to botanical publications and collections with dates, commentaries and types (Stafleu et al.).
Botanical Society of America - The professional society for botanists and plant scientists whose mission is to promote and support the breadth and diversity of botanical research and education.
eFloras - A searchable database of regional floras, including checklists, interactive keys, image galleries, and herbarium records for many ongoing floristic projects.
Index Herbariorum - A worldwide index of 3,100 herbaria and 12,000 associated staff by the New York Botanical Garden.
Tropicos - This database links over 1.33M scientific names with over 4.87M specimens and over 685K digital images.
U.S. National Herbarium - Maintains a world-class research collection of all major groups of plants (bryophytes, ferns, gymnosperms and angiosperms) as well as algae (esp. marine algae and diatoms) and lichens.
Catalogue of Life - The most comprehensive and authoritative global index of species currently available.
Acta Horticulturae - Full text proceedings of International Society for Horticultural Science Symposia and International Horticultural Congresses, dating from no. 1 (1963)- present.
American Horticultural Society - Blends education, social responsibility, and environmental stewardship with the art and science of horticulture.
American Public Gardens Association (APGA) - A membership organization for public gardens and horticulture professionals primarily in the United States and Canada.
Archives of American Gardens - Photos and records from the Smithsonian Institution Archives documenting over 10,000 historic and contemporary gardens, including the work of landscape architects, garden designers, and garden photographers as well as a handful of seed companies.
BGCI Databases - Botanic Gardens Conservation International has produced a set of searchable databases for those working in botanic gardens and plant conservation.
Combined EPA EcoRegions of North America and USDA Plant Hardiness Zones - Sustainable Gardening Institute app that combines the USDA Hardiness Zones with the EPA’s North American Ecoregions Level III maps.
Garden Guides - Handy guides for many kinds of garden procedures, designs and plantings.
RHS Horticultural Database - This Royal Horticultural Society database brings together as much horticultural information as possible, based around a comprehensive index of garden plant names.
Soils - Part of the National Cooperative Soil Survey, providing information on soil use, research, and education, including the Online Web Soil Survey of official USDA soil information as viewable maps and tables.
GrassBase - The Online World Grass Flora - Detailed information about all grass species, including nearly 11,000 species descriptions, and an interactive guide to nomenclature.
Gymnosperm Database - Provides classification, description and ecology information for all species and higher-ranked taxa of the gymnosperms, i.e., conifers, cycads, ginkgo, and the gnetophytes.
National Gardening Association - Wide variety of garden related content for consumers and educators.
Pollinator guides - Ecoregional Planting Guides help home gardeners know what to plant in their area to attract pollinators, critical to food and ecosystems.
The Fort Worth Garden Club - Fort Worth’s oldest gardening organization was organized in 1926, with the expressed purpose to cultivate a broader knowledge of gardening, horticulture and design, to advocate for the protection of the environment, and to support the Fort Worth Botanic Garden.
Neil Sperry’s Gardens - A popular local media gardening expert, Neil presents podcasts, gardening FAQ’s, and a weekly e-newsletter.
Tarrant County Master Gardener Association - Provides membership information, education and volunteer opportunities, speakers bureau, newsletter, and links to local gardening resources.