Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Search for E-Books
You can search and browse our E-book collection using the Arboretum Library Catalog. Arboretum Library E-Books are available for check out to Los Angeles Foundation Members only. You can join today or use the ID number on your current membership card prefaced by the letters "LA" to login to ebrary.
In the Arboretum Library Catalog select search options to limit your search:
- Below Simple Search or Advanced Search click Options selected!
- Under Limit/view search results click Select Media or Select Collections
- Mark the E-Books box and then search your favorite subject.
- Choose your favorite E-Book record. In the middle of the record the is a URL following the label Electronic Location/Access. The URL contains "ebookcentral".
- Click the URL.
- At the paywall/splashscreen type your Arboretum membership number with the letters "LA" in front of it, i.e., LA99999999999.
Once you have reached the Proquest Ebook Central site there are many ways to view or download the E-Book. The two easiest are to "View Online" and "Download Chapter." If you want to download the entire book the circulation period is 7 days. There is more help listed below.
How to download E-books using ebrary :
ebrary Videos on YouTube
View ebrary Support Center
If you have any further questions please contact the Librarian,Susan Eubank, Susan.Eubank@Arboretum.org, or leave a message at 626-821-3213.
If you are a brand new member and want to use the e-books, you can call our Membership office at 626.821.3233, seven days a week, 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. PDT or firstname.lastname@example.org to get a temporary membership number.
E-Books on Drought Tolerant Gardening and Water Conservation
Agaves: living sculptures for landscapes and containers. by
Gardeners and garden designers are having a love affair with agaves. It's easy to see why—they're low maintenance, drought-tolerant, and strikingly sculptural, with an astounding range of form and color. Many species are strikingly variegated, and some have contrasting ornamental spines on the edges of their leaves. Fabulous for container gardening or in-the-ground culture, they combine versatility with easy growability. In Agaves, plant expert Greg Starr profiles 75 species, with additional cultivars and hybrids, best suited to gardens and landscapes. Each plant entry includes a detailed description of the plant, along with its cultural requirements, including hardiness, sun exposure, water needs, soil requirements, and methods of propagation. Agaves can change dramatically as they age and this comprehensive guide includes photos showing each species from youth to maturity—a valuable feature unique to this book.
Conservation in Agriculture by
Call Number: eb S604.5 .C667 2013
Population and economic growth, changing social values about the importance of water quality and the environment, and Native American water-right claims will continue to drive growing U.S. demand for water resources. Expansion of the U.S. energy sector is expected to further increase regional demands for water. At the same time, projected climate change, through warming temperatures, shifting precipitation patterns, and reduced snow-pack, is expected to reduce water supplies and increase water demand across much of the West. These trends are placing greater pressure on existing water allocations, heightening the importance of water management and conservation for the sustainability of irrigated agriculture. This book draws on several USDA agricultural production and water-use analyses and surveys, as well as an extensive literature review, to describe the U.S. irrigated agriculture sector, existing and emerging water demands, trends in water-use efficiency in irrigated agriculture, and funding levels (private and public) for farm-level irrigation investments.
Creating Rain Gardens by
Call Number: eb TD657.4 .W64 2012
"A beautifully-written, practical guide to planning and creating your own rain garden." --Green Upgrader You probably spend hundreds of dollars watering your yard, but there is an easy way to save money and resources--by collecting rain to reuse in front and backyards. In Creating Rain Gardens, water conservation experts Cleo Woelfle-Erskine and Apryl Uncapher walk you through the entire process, with step-by-step instructions for designing and building swales, French drains, rain gardens, and ephemeral ponds. From soil preparation, planting, troubleshooting, and maintenance, to selecting palettes of water-loving plants that provide four-season interest and a habitat for wildlife, Creating Rain Gardens covers everything you need to create a beautiful rain garden at home.
The Desert Gardener's Calendar. by
Call Number: eb SB453.2.S67 .B66 1999eb
What's the best time to plant or prune? When should you fertilize fruit trees? What's the earliest date to set out tomato plants? Gardeners in the desert Southwest can't rely on books that try to cover the whole country. Summer heat, less rain, and shorter, unreliable growing seasons are important factors in the desert. That's why The Desert Gardener's Calendar can be essential to gardening success. Whether you're raising vegetables, nursing citrus trees, or just trying to keep your front yard looking its best, you'll find that this handy book gives you a valuable month-by-month perspective on the year. It helps you to focus on necessary activities and reminds you of simple tasks you might overlook.It's especially valuable for people who've moved to the desert regions from other parts of the country and follow old gardening dates that seldom apply to their new home. The Desert Gardener's Calendar is a guide to the maintenance you need to do to keep your garden flourishing and your landscape attractive throughout the year. It combines the month-by-month gardening and landscaping activities from two separate books by George Brookbank--Desert Gardening, Fruits and Vegetables and Desert Landscaping--and was created in response to readers who have found the calendar sections of those books especially invaluable. And because not all deserts are the same, Brookbank is careful to point out differences in scheduling encountered by gardeners in low- and middle-elevation regions in California and the Southwest. "I believe," says the author, "that if you use this calendar and let your judgment become more accurate with experience, you'll soon be doing everything right." Although that might suggest a day when you don't need this book, chances are good that, if you're a desert gardener, right now you do.
Desert Landscaping by
Call Number: eb SB427.5 .B76 1992eb
George Brookbank has distilled nearly twenty years' experience--as an extension agent in urban horticulture with the University of Arizona--into a practical book that tells how to avoid problems with desert landscaping before they occur and how to correct those that do. In the first part, "How to Start and Maintain a Desert Landscape," he provides 28 easy-to-use chapters that address concerns ranging from how to start a wildflower garden to how to cope with Texas root rot. In Part Two, "A Month-By-Month Maintenance Guide," he offers a handy almanac that tells what to do and what to watch out for each month of the year, with cross-references to the chapters in Part One. Homeowners who maintain their own landscape will find in this book ways to make the work more satisfying and productive, while those who hire landscape contractors can make sure the work is done effectively and economically. "You'll find all kinds of books on desert landscape design and materials, irrigation system and design, and landscape installation," says Brookbank. "So far as I know, however, this is the only book that tells you what to do with what you've got and how to keep it growing." CONTENTS Part 1 - How to Start and Maintain a Desert Landscape 1. Desert Conditions: How They Are "Different" 2. Plants Are Like People: They're Not Alike 3. Use Arid-Land Plants to Save Water 4. How to Irrigate in the Desert 5. How to Design and Install a Drip Irrigation System 6. Soils and Their Improvement I: How to Plant in the Desert 7. Soils and Their Improvement II: How to Use Fertilizers 8. What to Do When Things Go Wrong: A Troubleshooter's Guide 9. How to Avoid--and Repair--Frost Damage 10. How to Control "Weeds" 11. Palo Verde Borer Beetle: What to Do 12. How to Avoid Texas Root Rot 13. When You Move Into an Empty House 14. What to Do About Roots in Drains 15. How to Dig Up Plants and Move Them 16. How to Have Flower Bed Color All Year 17. Landscape Gardening with Containers 18. Starting Wildflowers 19. Starting a Lawn 20. Making and Keeping a Good Hedge 21. Pruning Trees and Shrubs 22. Palm Tree Care 23. Caring for Saguaros, Ocotillos, Avages, and Prickly Pears 24. Roses in the Desert: Hard Work and Some Disappointments 25. Landscaping with Citrus 26. Swimming Pools: Plants, Play, and Water-Saving 27. Landscape Maintenance While You're Away 28. Condominiums: Common Grounds, Common Problems Part 2 - A Month-by-Month Maintenance Guide
Designing with Succulents by
"Designing with Succulents is inspiring, practical, and complete--a treasure for any gardener who loves these otherworldly beauties." --Kathleen N. Brenzel, Sunset Succulents offer dazzling possibilities and require very little maintenance to remain lush and alluring year-round. No one knows them better than the Queen of Succulents, Debra Lee Baldwin. This new, completely revised edition of her bestselling classic is a design compendium that is as practical as it is inspirational. Designing with Succulents shares design and cultivation basics, hundreds of succulent plant recommendations, and 50 companion plant profiles. Lavishly illustrated with 400 photographs, you'll find everything you need to visualize, create, and nurture a thriving, water-smart succulent garden.
Food and Water Security by
Call Number: eb S494.5.S86 F66 2008
This book deals with ways and means of managing food and water security in various agroclimatic environments through the integration of R & D, training, people participation, agronomic practices, economic instruments, and administrative policies.
Gardening with a Wild Heart by
Call Number: eb SB439.24.C2 L68 1999eb
Judith Lowry's voice and experiences make a rich matrix for essays that include discussions of wildflower gardening, the ecology of native grasses, wildland seed-collecting, principles of natural design, and plant/animal interactions. This lyrical and articulate mix of the practical and the poetic combines personal story, wildland ecology, restoration gardening practices, and native plant horticulture.
Good Gardens with Less Water by
Call Number: eb S494.5.W3 S75 2010
It is possible to have a great garden anywhere in Australia, even under the toughest water restrictions. Good Gardens with Less Water will show you how. A companion to Kevin Handreck's best-selling Gardening Down-Under, this new book is a practical guide to gardening with limited water.This beautifully illustrated, full-colour book contains a wealth of information on such key topics as: how to improve soil structure to maximise the retention of water for use by plants; selecting drought-tolerant native and exotic plants; working out how much water to apply to different types of plants; choosing the best lawn grass for your climate; rainwater harvesting and use; and how to avoid problems when greywater is used in the garden.With specific chapters devoted to watering systems and equipment, mulches, planting techniques and potted plants, this book offers practical solutions for anyone who wishes to garden sustainably.
Growing Food in a Hotter, Drier Land by
Call Number: eb S613 .N33 2013
How to harvest water and nutrients, select drought-tolerant plants, and create natural diversity Because climatic uncertainty has now become "the new normal," many farmers, gardeners and orchard-keepers in North America are desperately seeking ways to adapt their food production to become more resilient in the face of such "global weirding." This book draws upon the wisdom and technical knowledge from desert farming traditions all around the world to offer time-tried strategies for: Building greater moisture-holding capacity and nutrients in soils Protecting fields from damaging winds, drought, and floods Harvesting water from uplands to use in rain gardens and terraces filled with perennial crops Delecting fruits, nuts, succulents, and herbaceous perennials that are best suited to warmer, drier climates Gary Paul Nabhan is one of the world's experts on the agricultural traditions of arid lands. For this book he has visited indigenous and traditional farmers in the Gobi Desert, the Arabian Peninsula, the Sahara Desert, and Andalusia, as well as the Sonoran, Chihuahuan, and Painted deserts of North America, to learn firsthand their techniques and designs aimed at reducing heat and drought stress on orchards, fields, and dooryard gardens. This practical book also includes colorful "parables from the field" that exemplify how desert farmers think about increasing the carrying capacity and resilience of the lands and waters they steward. It is replete with detailed descriptions and diagrams of how to implement these desert-adapted practices in your own backyard, orchard, or farm. This unique book is useful not only for farmers and permaculturists in the arid reaches of the Southwest or other desert regions. Its techniques and prophetic vision for achieving food security in the face of climate change may well need to be implemented across most of North America over the next half-century, and are already applicable in most of the semiarid West, Great Plains, and the U.S. Southwest and adjacent regions of Mexico.
Hellstrip gardening: create a paradise between the sidewalk and the curb by
The hellstrip--the space between a street and a public sidewalk, also known as a tree park, boulevard, meridian, and planting strip--is finally getting the attention it deserves! Gardeners everywhere are taking advantage of the space as an environmentally friendly way to add curb appeal to their homes, expand the size of their gardens, and conserve resources. Hellstrip Gardening by Evelyn Hadden, the author of the acclaimed Beautiful No-Mow Yards, is the first book to show you exactly how to reclaim this oft-ignored space. This comprehensive guide covers how to determine the city and Home Owner's Association rules governing the area, how to choose plants that thrive in tough situations, how to design pathways for accessibility, and much more. Gorgeous color photographs of hellstrip gardens across the country offer inspiration and visual guidance to anyone ready to tackle this final frontier. With Hellstrip Gardening in hand, you can finally create the paradise you want in the most unexpected of places!
Hot Color in the Dry Garden by
Call Number: eb SB439.8 .S747 2018
"Eye-popping proof that water-wise gardens are bold, beautiful and brilliantly hued." --San Diego Home and Garden Dry weather defines the southwest, and it's getting dryer. As water becomes more precious, our gardens suffer. If we want to keep gardening, we must revolutionize our plant choices and garden practices. Hot Color, Dry Garden provides a joyful, color-filled way to exuberantly garden in low-water conditions. Garden expert Nan Sterman highlights inspiring examples of brilliant gardens filled with water-smart plants. You'll find information about designing for color using plants, architecture, and accessories, along with a plant directory that features drought-tolerant plants that dazzle.
Jardinería Desértica, Tucson, [Arizona]: Editorial de la Universidad de Arizona, 2001. by
Call Number: eb SB453.2.S67 .B766 2001
¿Cuál es el mejor tiempo del año para plantar? ¿Cuándo es el mejor tiempo para fertilizar el árbol frutal? ¿Cuándo se debe plantar la mata de tomate en la primavera? Los jardineros que viven en el desierto del sudoeste no pueden contar con las prácticas recomendadas para otras partes del país. El sol del verano, las lluvias esporádicas y las cortas e inestables temporadas de cultivación producen una nueva serie de reglas para el jardinero del desierto. Jardinería desértica---mes por mes le servirá de guía para cuidar las plantas de su jardín y determinar el mejor tiempo para plantar, podar, y regar. Este libro es especialmente útil para los jardineros y residentes recién llegados al sudoeste desértico. Si usted cultiva vegetales o árboles frutales y cítricos, o si sencillamente quiere mantener un jardín hermoso, encontrará que este libro práctico le informará sobre las labores necesarias y le ayudará a recordar las tareas importantes que inadvertidamente podría olvidar. Now available in a Spanish-language edition, this popular guide provides pointers to the maintenance needed to keep gardens flourishing and landscapes attractive throughout the year. Translated by master gardener Félix Hurtado, Jardinería desértica makes a wealth of common-sense wisdom available to Spanish-speaking readers.
Out of the Scientist's Garden by
Call Number: eb S494.5.W3 S75 2010
Out of the Scientist's Garden is written for anyone who wants to understand food and water a little better - for those growing vegetables in a garden, food in a subsistence plot or crops on vast irrigated plains. It is also for anyone who has never grown anything before but has wondered how we will feed a growing population in a world of shrinking resources.Although a practicing scientist in the field of water and agriculture, the author has written, in story form accessible to a wide audience, about the drama of how the world feeds itself. The book starts in his own fruit and vegetable garden, exploring the 'how and why' questions about the way things grow, before moving on to stories about soil, rivers, aquifers and irrigation. The book closes with a brief history of agriculture, how the world feeds itself today and how to think through some of the big conundrums of modern food production.
Pamela Burton Landscapes by
Call Number: eb SB470 .B88 B87 2010
Pamela Burton begins every garden or landscape project, no matter the size, with a big idea. The idea, according to Burton, "must be simple, harmonious, perceptible and the product of a totality of experience." Following the careful observation of a site's natural forces, she lets her mind wander beyond professional knowledge. For Burton, landscapes are symbolic creationswild spaces in which the journey itself, a sequence of discrete experiences in space and time, is paramount. Her Bonhill Residence, overlooking Los Angeles's west side, was inspired by the elegant gardens of Sissinghurst Castle in Kent, England and is conceived as a series of outdoor "rooms." In her design for the Santa Monica Public Library, Burton created a series of courtyards that weave the interior spaces together, and are integrated with the library as a metaphor for bringing light to the world beneath the surface of the ocean, in the same way that she perceives libraries bringing knowledge to light. Working with Moore, Ruble, Yudell Architects, Burton's landscape designreinforces the library's civic quality. Receptive to the nuances and idiosyncrasies of a site but unafraid to explore the world of ideas, Burton has established herself as a leading figure within the enduring legacy of California modern landscape design. Pamela Burton Landscapes presents nineteen of her built works for public and private clients, with sites ranging from beach to desert and from farm to city block.
Pat Welsh's Southern California Gardening by
Call Number: eb SB453.2.C3 .P38 2000
First published in 1992, Pat Welsh's Southern California Gardening has sold well over 40,000 copies and received great critical acclaim. This completely revised and updated edition includes 40 new color photographs plus new information on perennials, ornamental grasses, geraniums, and more. Monthly chapters discuss relevant gardening topicsclimate, plant selection, soils, fertilizers, and wateringand are accompanied by handy checklists to help gardeners stay organized. An assortment of sidebars and rules of thumb will prove useful to gardeners in any region. Beautifully photographed and written in Pat Welsh's warm and practical style, this is an indispensable guide for every southern California gardener.
Sowing Seeds in the Desert by
Call Number: eb S613 .F858 2012
The earth is in great peril, due to the corporatization of agriculture, the rising climate crisis, and the ever-increasing levels of global poverty, starvation, and desertification on a massive scale. This present condition of global trauma is not "natural," but a result of humanity's destructive actions. And, according to Masanobu Fukuoka, it is reversible. We need to change not only our methods of earth stewardship, but also the very way we think about the relationship between human beings and nature. Fukuoka grew up on a farm on the island of Shikoku in Japan. As a young man he worked as a customs inspector for plants going into and out of the country. This was in the 1930s when science seemed poised to create a new world of abundance and leisure, when people fully believed they could improve upon nature by applying scientific methods and thereby reap untold rewards. While working there, Fukuoka had an insight that changed his life forever. He returned to his home village and applied this insight to developing a revolutionary new way of farming that he believed would be of great benefit to society. This method, which he called "natural farming," involved working with, not in opposition to, nature. Fukuoka's inspiring and internationally best-selling book, The One-Straw Revolution was first published in English in 1978. In this book, Fukuoka described his philosophy of natural farming and why he came to farm the way he did. One-Straw was a huge success in the West, and spoke directly to the growing movement of organic farmers and activists seeking a new way of life. For years after its publication, Fukuoka traveled around the world spreading his teachings and developing a devoted following of farmers seeking to get closer to the truth of nature. Sowing Seeds in the Desert, a summation of those years of travel and research, is Fukuoka's last major work-and perhaps his most important. Fukuoka spent years working with people and organizations in Africa, India, Southeast Asia, Europe, and the United States, to prove that you could, indeed, grow food and regenerate forests with very little irrigation in the most desolate of places. Only by greening the desert, he said, would the world ever achieve true food security. This revolutionary book presents Fukuoka's plan to rehabilitate the deserts of the world using natural farming, including practical solutions for feeding a growing human population, rehabilitating damaged landscapes, reversing the spread of desertification, and providing a deep understanding of the relationship between human beings and nature. Fukuoka's message comes right at the time when people around the world seem to have lost their frame of reference, and offers us a way forward.
Sustainable Landscaping for Dummies by
Call Number: eb SB473 .D45 2009
Sustainable Landscaping For Dummies provides hands-on, how-to instruction for realizing the benefits of a sustainable landscape, from selecting sutainable hardscape materials to installing a rain-water catchment system to choosing native plants.
Water-efficient landscaping in the Intermountain West by
Call Number: eb SB475.83 .W364 2011
This working manual provides complete information on the technical aspects of designing, building, and maintaining waterwise landscapes in the Mountain West. Written particularly for professionals, including landscape designers, architects, contractors, and maintenance and irrigation specialists, it has an attractive, well-illustrated, user-friendly format that will make it useful as well to DIY homeowners and to educators, plant retailers, extension agents, and many others. The manual is organized according to landscape principles that are adapted to the climate of the intermountain region. Beginning with planning and design, the topical principles proceed through soil preparation, appropriate plant selection, practicalities of turfgrass, use of mulch, and irrigation planning, winding up with landscape maintenance. Designed for onsite, handy use, the book is illustrated with color images of landscapes, plants, and materials. Tables, charts, diagrams, landscape plans, plant lists, checklists, and other graphic resources are scattered throughout the manual, which is written in an accessible but information-rich style. Water-Efficient Landscaping in the Intermountain West answers, more comprehensively than any other single book, the need for professional information that addresses both growing awareness of the necessity for water conservation and the desire for beautiful, healthy yards and properties.
E-Books to Read While the Library is Closed. August 25-September 20, 2021
Call Number: eb E78 .N78 S762 1984
From the giant cedar of the rainforest came a wealth of raw materials vital to the way of life, art and culture of the early First Nations people of the Northwest Coast. All parts of the cedar tree had many uses. From the wood, skilled men made ocean-going canoes, massive post-and- beam houses, monumental carved poles that declared history, rights and lineage, and powerful dance masks. Women dextrously wove the inner bark into mats and baskets, plied it into ocordage and netting or processed it into soft, warn, water-repellent clothing. They also made the strong withes into heavy-duty rope and wove the roots into watertight baskets. Hilary Stewart explains, through her vivid descriptions, 550 detailed drawings and 50 photographs, the tools and techniques used, as well as the superbly crafted objects and their uses--all in the context of daily and ceremonial life. Anecdotes, oral history and the accounts of early explorers, traders, missionaries and native elders highlight the text.
To Love the Wind and the Rain by
Call Number: eb E185 .T65 2006
To Love the Wind and the Rain is a groundbreaking and vivid analysis of the relationship between African Americans and the environment in U.S. history. It focuses on three major themes: African Americans in the rural environment, African Americans in the urban and suburban environments, and African Americans and the notion of environmental justice. Meticulously researched, the essays cover subjects including slavery, hunting, gardening, religion, the turpentine industry, outdoor recreation, women, and politics. To Love the Wind and the Rain will serve as an excellent foundation for future studies in African American environmental history.
Hand Printing from Nature by
Call Number: eb NE1338 .B49 2011
Discover how to use natural materials to print on any surface, from paper and fabric to ceramics, wood, and walls. With simple step-by-step instructions and clear photographs, Laura Bethmann encourages crafters of all levels to create original nature prints with leaves, flowers, fruits, shells, stones, and more. Her unique project ideas include stationery printed with maple leaves, a clothes hamper printed with scallop shells, and a pillow printed with cabbage. Before you know it, you'll be designing one-of-a-kind nature prints to reflect your unique personality and style.
Dune County by
Call Number: eb QK142 .B694 1986
Contrary to public perception, sand dunes are not barren piles of sand. They are alive with plant life. The dunes themselves even move, sometimes several inches a year. In Dune Country Janice Emily Bowers takes readers from New Mexico's White Sands to Utah's Coral Pink Dunes to the Death Valley dunes of California and beyond. Beautifully written and illustrated, Dune Country is a perfect introduction to the fragile ecosystems of sand dunes.
100 Plants to Feed the Bees by
Call Number: eb QK926 .P536 2016
The international bee crisis is threatening our global food supply, but this user-friendly field guide shows what you can do to help protect our pollinators. The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation offers browsable profiles of 100 common flowers, herbs, shrubs, and trees that support bees, butterflies, moths, and hummingbirds. The recommendations are simple: pick the right plants for pollinators, protect them from pesticides, and provide abundant blooms throughout the growing season by mixing perennials with herbs and annuals! 100 Plants to Feed the Bees will empower homeowners, landscapers, apartment dwellers -- anyone with a scrap of yard or a window box -- to protect our pollinators.
The Well-Gardened Mind by
Call Number: eb RM735.7.G37 .S783 2020
One of Garden & Gun's Favorite Books of 2020 A distinguished psychiatrist and avid gardener offers an inspiring and consoling work about the healing effects of gardening and its ability to decrease stress and foster mental well-being in our everyday lives. The garden is often seen as a refuge, a place to forget worldly cares, removed from the "real" life that lies outside. But when we get our hands in the earth we connect with the cycle of life in nature through which destruction and decay are followed by regrowth and renewal. Gardening is one of the quintessential nurturing activities and yet we understand so little about it. The Well-Gardened Mind provides a new perspective on the power of gardening to change people's lives. Here, Sue Stuart-Smith investigates the many ways in which mind and garden can interact and explores how the process of tending a plot can be a way of sustaining an innermost self. Stuart-Smith's own love of gardening developed as she studied to become a psychoanalytic psychotherapist. From her grandfather's return from World War I to Freud's obsession with flowers to case histories with her own patients to progressive gardening programs in such places as Rikers Island prison in New York City, Stuart-Smith weaves thoughtful yet powerful examples to argue that gardening is much more important to our cognition than we think. Recent research is showing how green nature has direct antidepressant effects on humans. Essential and pragmatic, The Well-Gardened Mind is a book for gardeners and the perfect read for people seeking healthier mental lives.
Maize for the Gods by
Call Number: eb SB191 .M2 .B657 2015
Maize is the world's most productive food and industrial crop, grown in more than 160 countries and on every continent except Antarctica. If by some catastrophe maize were to disappear from our food supply chain, vast numbers of people would starve and global economies would rapidly collapse. How did we come to be so dependent on this one plant? Maize for the Gods brings together new research by archaeologists, archaeobotanists, plant geneticists, and a host of other specialists to explore the complex ways that this single plant and the peoples who domesticated it came to be inextricably entangled with one another over the past nine millennia. Tracing maize from its first appearance and domestication in ancient campsites and settlements in Mexico to its intercontinental journey through most of North and South America, this history also tells the story of the artistic creativity, technological prowess, and social, political, and economic resilience of America's first peoples.
Woody Plants of the Big Bend and Trans-Pecos by
Call Number: eb SB193.3.T4H37 2016
The Trans-Pecos region of Texas is home to a variety of big game species, including desert mule deer, pronghorn, desert bighorn sheep, white-tailed deer, elk, feral hog, and javelina; several species of exotics, such as aoudad, axis deer, and blackbuck antelope; and domestic livestock that includes cattle, horses, goats, sheep, and bison. Prepared by a team of range specialists at the Borderlands Research Institute in Alpine, Texas, this field guide will allow the area's ranch managers, private landowners, resource professionals, students, and other outdoor enthusiasts to identify the key woody plants that serve as valuable forage for these animals. Encompassing 18 West Texas counties, with application in like habitats in the western Hill Country and southern Rolling Plains as well as in northern Mexico and eastern New Mexico, the book provides a thorough introduction to the natural features of the region and descriptions, nutrition values, and management prescriptions for 84 species of browse plants. In addition to informing readers about the diet of the region's large animals, this fully illustrated, user-friendly reference also intends to inspire the continued good stewardship of the land they inhabit.
Perennial Vegetables by
Call Number: eb SB320.9 .T64 2007
There is a fantastic array of vegetables you can grow in your garden, and not all of them are annuals. In Perennial Vegetables the adventurous gardener will find information, tips, and sound advice on less common edibles that will make any garden a perpetual, low-maintenance source of food. Imagine growing vegetables that require just about the same amount of care as the flowers in your perennial beds and borders--no annual tilling and potting and planting. They thrive and produce abundant and nutritious crops throughout the season. It sounds too good to be true, but in Perennial Vegetables author and plant specialist Eric Toensmeier (Edible Forest Gardens) introduces gardeners to a world of little-known and wholly underappreciated plants. Ranging beyond the usual suspects (asparagus, rhubarb, and artichoke) to include such "minor" crops as ground cherry and ramps (both of which have found their way onto exclusive restaurant menus) and the much sought after, anti-oxidant-rich wolfberry (also known as goji berries). Toensmeier explains how to raise, tend, harvest, and cook with plants that yield great crops and satisfaction. Perennial vegetables are perfect as part of an edible landscape plan or permaculture garden. Profiling more than 100 species, illustrated with dozens of color photographs and illustrations, and filled with valuable growing tips, recipes, and resources, Perennial Vegetables is a groundbreaking and ground-healing book that will open the eyes of gardeners everywhere to the exciting world of edible perennials.
From Seed to Skillet by
Call Number: eb SB321 .W555 2010
Jimmy Williams learned all about vegetable gardening at the knee of his grandmother, a South Carolina native from a traditional Gullah community whose members were descendents of Caribbean slaves. He pays homage to his family history in this inspiring step-by-step guide to designing and planting a backyard vegetable garden and growing one's own food. With this essential garden manual, home gardeners can learn how easy it is to plan a garden, design and construct growing beds, tend the crop without using harmful chemicals, harvest gorgeous vegetables, and cook a delicious feast using Jimmy's favorite family recipes.
Call Number: eb SB351 .K3 .D38 2015
Food is essential to southern culture, and collard greens play a central role in the South's culinary traditions. A feast to the famished, a reward to the strong, and a comfort to the weary, collards have long been held dear in the food-loving southern heart. In Collards: A Southern Tradition from Seed to Table, Edward H. Davis and John T. Morgan provide this emblematic and beloved vegetable the full-length survey its fascinating and complex history merits. The book begins with collards' obscure origins. Like a good detective story, the search for collards' home country leads the authors both to Europe and West Africa, where they unravel a tale as surprising and complex as that of southern people themselves. Crossing back over the Atlantic, the authors traverse miles of American back roads, from Arkansas to Florida and from Virginia to Louisiana. They vividly recount visits to homes, gardens, grocers, farms, and restaurants where the many varieties of collards are honored, from the familiar green collards to the yellow cabbage collard and rare purple cultivars. In uncovering the secrets of growing collards, the authors locate prize-winning patches of the plant, interview "seed savers," and provide useful tips for kitchen gardeners. They also describe how collards made the leap from kitchen garden staple to highly valued commercial crop. Collards captures the tastes, smells, and prize-winning recipes from the South's premier collards festivals. They find collards at the homes of farmers, jazz musicians, governors, and steel workers. Kin to cabbage and broccoli but superior to both in nutritional value, collard greens transcend human divisions of black and white, rich and poor, sophisticated and rustic, and urban and rural. Food trends may come and go, but collards are a tradition that southerners return to again and again. Richly illustrated in color, Collards demonstrates the abiding centrality of this green leafy vegetable to the foodways of the American South. In it, readers will rediscover an old friend.
Australian Rainforest Fruits by
Call Number: eb SB354.6.A8 C66 2013
This beautifully illustrated field guide covers 504 of the most common fruiting plants found in Australia's eastern rainforests, as well as a few species that are rare in the wild but generally well-known. These spectacular plants can be seen from Cape York to Victoria, with some species also found in the Northern Territory, Western Australia and overseas. Rainforest fruits are often beautifully colored, and in this guide the species are arranged by color of ripe fruit, then by size and form. Five broad categories - pink to purple, blue to black, yellow and orange to red, green to brown, and white - allow people with even limited botanical knowledge to identify rainforest fruits. Australian Rainforest Fruitsincludes stunning artwork by Australia's leading natural history artist, William T. Cooper. It will be sought not just by bushwalkers and natural history enthusiasts, but also by those who admire botanical art at its best.
Nuts and Berries of California by
Call Number: eb SB355.5.C2 .N94 2015
California's diverse geography overflows with many types of edible plants. Through the seasons, this forager's paradise offers a continually changing list of wild, harvestable treasures. Nuts and Berries of California guides you to the edible wild foods and healthful herbs of the West. This valuable reference guide will help you identify and appreciate the wild bounty of California. Inside you'll find: detailed descriptions for edible nuts and berries; tips on finding, preparing and consuming them. Use Nuts and Berries of California as a field guide or as a delightful armchair read. No matter what you're looking for, this guide will enhance your next backpacking trip or easy stroll around the garden, and may just provide some new favorites for your dinner table.
The Plant Lover's Guide to Dahlias by
Call Number: eb SB413 .D13 .V47 2014
Dahlias are the showgirls of the garden. A favorite of floral and landscape designers, they come in a wide range of jewel-like colors--rich reds and vibrant oranges, shocking pinks--and an engaging variation of form and petal shape. The Plant Lover's Guide to Dahlias is packed with everything you need to know to grow these fantastic flowers including; tips on using dahlias in garden design, growth and propagation information, and lists of where to buy the plants and where to view them in public gardens. The bulk of the book is devoted to profiles for over 200 varieties, organized by color, with information on type, height, and spread. Gorgeous color photographs bring the plants to life.
The Bulb Hunter by
Call Number: eb SB425 .W564 2013
Dubbed the Bulb Hunter in a 2006 New York Times feature story, Chris Wiesinger took his passion for bulbs to vacant lots, abandoned houses, cemeteries, and construction sites throughout the South in search of botanical survivors whose descendants had never seen the inside of a big-box chain store. The vintage specimens Wiesinger sought came from hardy, historic stock, adapted to human neglect and hot climates, reappearing faithfully over decades without care or cultivation. Traveling back roads, speaking to strangers, looking for the telltale color of a remnant iris or lily, Wiesinger started digging, then began trying to grow and share the bulbs he collected. From its humble beginnings on an East Texas sweet potato farm, his Southern Bulb Company has now grown into a full-fledged business known throughout the world, propagating and selling the rare, tough, heritage plants Wiesinger still seeks out and champions. Nicknamed "Flower" by his fellow cadets at Texas A&M University, Wiesinger relates his adventures in bulb hunting, telling stories of the bulbs he has discovered and weaving in his own life story as a student, plantsman, and small business owner. He then teams with veteran horticulturist William C. Welch to provide advice on how to grow and appreciate the bulbs that have been rescued and reintroduced. This "primer" gives gardeners information on what bulbs to grow where, when to plant them and when they bloom, and how to incorporate them with other plants in the landscape. Finally, Welch describes how bulbs have enhanced his personal gardens and brought him and Wiesinger together in the common cause of heirloom gardening. Entertaining, informative, and loaded with beautiful photographs, The Bulb Hunter is sure to be a favorite of gardeners and plant lovers everywhere.
Succulents Simplified by
Call Number: eb SB438 .B353 2013
"Demystifies these popular low-water beauties."--Country Gardens Magazine Whether you're a novice or veteran, have an acre to fill or a just few pots, or live in Calexico or Canada, Succulents Simplified is a dazzling primer for success with succulents! Debra Lee Baldwin, the Queen of Succulents, profiles the 100 top plant picks and includes basic information on how to grow and care for succulents no matter where you live. Step-by-step projects, including a cake-stand centerpiece, special-occasion bouquets, a vertical garden, and a succulent topiary sphere, will inspire you to express your individual style.
Small Summer Gardens by
Call Number: eb SB454.3.C64 .H373 2018
Turn your backyard into a bright summer paradise with a collection of 35 projects to create stylish, fragrant, and abundant displays. Turn your backyard into a bright summer paradise with a collection of 35 projects to create stylish, fragrant, and abundant displays. There are gorgeous flowering plants, lush foliage, special occasion displays, and edible fruit and vegetable harvests. The projects in Small Summer Gardens include hanging baskets, window boxes, beautiful flower beds, large and small pots, and pretty recycled containers. Create a display of foxgloves and woodland plants in a rusty trunk, scented sweet peas in a tub, a mini water garden with flowering water lilies, a wreath made from alpine flowers, fruit bushes in pots, and much more. With Emma Hardy's expert advice, you will learn everything you need to know about growing annuals from seed, growing bulbs, using inexpensive bedding plants in interesting ways, combining perennials and small shrubs, and growing and maintaining fruit and vegetable plants.
Coppicing and Coppice Crafts by
Call Number: eb SB473.5
Coppicing is an ancient method of enhancing woodland biodiversity, and coppice woodlands are to be found all over Britain and parts of Europe. The key to successful coppicing is to nurture the new coppice shoots. In return, a coppice will provide an endless supply of wood for a wide range of articles and the authors present detailed instruction on how to produce many kinds of woodland products from besom brooms, firewood and charcoal to more challenging items such as hazel hurdles and coracles. Topics covered in Coppicing & Coppice Crafts *Discusses how to find a suitable wood and the pitfalls involved
*Covers all the equipment, tools and resources that you will need, together with health and safety issues
*Examines tax issues, the law and what you can and cannot do
*Analyses in detail all aspects of coppice management including pests and diseases, and how to plant a new coppice
*Examines the flora and fauna of the coppice and how it should be managed
*Pays particular attention to hazel coppice
*Considers a wide range of coppice woods and crafts and how the products are made
*Discusses wood as a fuel, including charcoal-making, the best types of wood to burn, wood-fired boilers, woodchips, pellets, kindling, logs and much more
*Includes a useful glossary, bibliography and list of addresses
Author Rebecca Oaks set up her own coppice business in 1994. Mentored by Bill Hogarth, the last active coppice merchant in the north-west of England, she built a business specializing in hazel coppice and coppice crafts. In 2000 she formed the Bill Hogarth MBE Memorial Apprenticeship Trust [BHMAT] and has been running three-year apprenticeships in coppicing ever since. Edward Mills purchased his own coppice woodland in the Lake District in 2003 and his wood is frequently used for promoting the benefits of good coppice management. Edward became a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Foresters in 2004.
SELLING POINTS: An essential guide that provides you with everything you need to know about how to manage a coppice successfully and how to produce a wide range of woodland products Aimed at everyone interested in woodland management, trees, forestry and country crafts whether an aspiring woodland owner or a casual volunteer Brimming with practical information, it guides the reader through the pitfalls of purchasing their own woodland and describes all aspects of managing a coppice. Includes 224 color illustrations
A History of the Native Woodlands of Scotland, 1500-1920 by
Call Number: eb SD183 .S66 2007
REVIEWS OF PREVIOUS EDITIONS:'An authoritative, readable and attractively illustrated book... it is likely to be a much cited, definitive work for a long time to come.'Ian Whyte, Landscape History'
I thoroughly recommend it to ecologists, historians, and anyone liking a good story.'Oliver Rackham, Agricultural History Review'
This well-produced book has been a great pleasure for me to read and, indeed, I wish it had been written years ago so I could have recommended it during my course on Quaternary paleoecology... Every one of the colour plates is appropriate and attractive....I stress again my admiration of this book.'James H Dickson, Environmental History (January 2006)
'An excellent combination of detailed case studies and more general reviews... a particular strength of the book is that it does not deal with these industries in isolation, but shows how the management, felling and regeneration of trees and woodlands was intricately connected with grazing... The careful analysis by the authors of a wide range of sources is exemplary and the results are of great interest and value. Edinburgh University Press should be congratulated for the high production quality, including excellent colour plates, historical photographs, and maps and diagrams. This important book should be required reading for all interested in the economic and environmental history of the woodlands.'Charles Watkins, Economic History Review
'[Tells] the more fundamental story of trees and woods in our history, in great detail, but always with a firm sense of narrative. It is a tribute not only to the authors' multidisciplinary talents but also to the renaissance of woodland studies north of the border.'British Wildlife
Now available in paperback, the first modern history of Scottish woodlands explores the changing relationship between trees and people from the time of Scotland's first settlement, focusing on the period 1500 to 1920. Drawing on work in natural science, geography and history.
Call Number: eb SD397 .J8 .R644 2018
Copublished with the Utah State Historical Society. Affiliated with the Utah Division of State History, Utah Department of Heritage & Arts. Throughout prehistory and history, junipers have influenced ecosystems, cultures, mythologies, economics, politics, and environmental controversies. In terms of their effects on human lives the juniper may be the most significant tree in the interior West. Interwoven explores these interconnecting aspects of junipers. Ghost beads, biotic communities, gin, tree masticators, Puebloan diapers, charcoal, folklore, historic explorers, spiral grain, tree life cycles, spirituality, packrat middens, climate changes, wildfire, ranching, wilderness, and land management policies are among the many different threads the book follows. These and other topics shed light on a fascinating organism, but the book is more than a compilation of facts. At once a scientific, experiential, historical, and metaphorical walk among junipers and their interrelationships, Interwoven may change readers' experiences with these trees and the natural world. Finalist for the Utah State Historical Society Best Book Award. Finalist for the 2019 ASLE Book Award for excellence in ecocriticism and environmental creative writing. Named a "notable book" by the prize committee of the 2018 Sigurd F. Olson Nature Writing Award.
Call Number: eb TH4955 .D54 2015
If you dream of living in a tiny house, or creating a getaway in the backwoods or your backyard, you'll love this gorgeous collection of creative and inspiring ideas for tiny houses, cabins, forts, studios, and other microshelters. Created by a wide array of builders and designers around the United States and beyond, these 59 unique and innovative structures show you the limits of what is possible. Each is displayed in full-color photographs accompanied by commentary by the author. In addition, Diedricksen includes six sets of building plans by leading designers to help you get started on a microshelter of your own. You'll also find guidelines on building with recycled and salvaged materials, plus techniques for making your small space comfortable and easy to inhabit.