Book Club Reads from 2016Book Club Reads from 2015Book Club Reads from 2014Book Club Reads from 2013Book Club Reads from 2012Book Club Reads from 2011Book Club Reads from 2010
Arboretum Archive
Guide
Want To Read A Story? Browse These Ebook Choices.
This is the "E-Books
Lists and How-to" page of the "Arboretum Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Arboretum Library   Tags: botany, gardening, horticulture, los angeles, plants  

Last Updated: Mar 15, 2017 URL: http://cbhl.libguides.com/LAArboretumLibrary Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

E-Books Lists and How-to Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New E-Books in the Arboretum Library

Cover Art
You Are the Earth - David Suzuki; Kathy Vanderlinden; Wallace Edwards (Illustrator), Vancouver [B.C.] : Greystone Books, c2010
Call Number: eb QH541.14 .S92 2010eb
ISBN: 9781553654766
This lively collection of fascinating facts and fables, colorful cartoons, and dynamic illustrations explains how everything on Earth is connected. Since its original publication, concern for the environment has grown, and although environmental damage has increased, so too have "green" strategies. This new edition reflects these changes, with expanded discussion of environmental issues and new technologies, as well as many more activities. New sidebars offer extra facts, tips, and real-life examples of things other budding ecologists have done to make the world a better place.

Cover Art
World Economic Plants - John H. Wiersema; Blanca Len, Boca Raton, Florida ; London, [England] ; New York : CRC Press, 2013.
Call Number: eb SB107 .W547 2013eb
ISBN: 9781439821428
Given the frequent movement of commercial plants outside their native location, the consistent and standard use of plant names for proper identification and communication has become increasingly important. This second edition of World Economic Plants: A Standard Referenceis a key tool in the maintenance of standards for the basic science underlying the quest for security of food and other economic plant resources. Containing a substantial increase in content from the previous edition, this comprehensive and accessible work now documents more than 12,000 economically important vascular plants. This volume covers plants and plant products that are traded, regulated, or otherwise important to international commerce. The plant names and uses have been meticulously checked against the literature and by external peer reviewers, and names are up to date in their taxonomic classification and nomenclaturally correct according to international rules. Each entry includes the accepted scientific (Latin) name, synonyms, economic importance, common names in a variety of languages, and the geographical distribution of the species. The information on each plant can be accessed through either its scientific or common name, providing a global perspective on its native, introduced, or cultivated geographical distribution, and its economic usage or impacts. This reference covers all major groups of economic plants, including those used for human or animal food, materials, medicines, environmental purposes, gene sources for breeding, social purposes, as well as ones with negative impacts such as poisonous or disease-harboring plants or weeds. This compilation provides scientists, professionals, and students from various backgrounds with a global standard for communication regarding economically important plants. As collaboration across plant science increases, comprehensive standardized references such as this one are indispensible for addressing the global issues involved with agriculture and other human uses of plant diversity. New this edition: Includes over 25 percent more economic plants--approximately 2,700 new plants Comprises twice the data content of the first edition Contains more than 50,000 common names in all principal world languages, now including some in their original scripts

Cover Art
Wildlife in Your Garden - Sally Roth (Editor); Karen Lanier (Editor), Irvine, California: Lumina Media, 2016.
Call Number: eb QL59 .W553 2016eb
ISBN: 9781620081389
Imagine a thriving garden in your backyard, bursting with vibrantly colored blooms and lush green leaves, shaded by tall trees. Now imagine the same garden, alive with buzzing and flapping and chirping and croaking. Imagine the ecological impact of encouraging natural pollinators. Imagine the excitement of watching your garden become a hub of activity and learning about all of its different visitors. For those who relish observing nature in action, planning a garden to attract certain typesof wildlife can bring daily enjoyment right into the backyard. Inside Wildlife in Your Garden: How to deal with and even appreciate the insects in your garden Reptile and amphibian backyard visitors and how they can contribute to a healthy ecosystem "Birdscaping”--planning and planting with birds in mind A special section on hummingbirds that includes an illustrated guide to twelve common types Using binoculars and field guides to identify birds by sight and by calls Different types of pollination and the plants and food crops that depend on it Butterfly metamorphosis and gardening for the different life stages How bats and moths take over pollination duties at night Learning to coexist with four-legged furry friends who like to dig and forage Natural ways to protect your garden from pests and discourage harmful wildlife

Cover Art
The Way of a Gardener - Des Kennedy, Vancouver [B.C.] : Douglas & McIntyre, c2010
Call Number: eb SB63 K45 A3 2010eb
ISBN: 9781553654179
Accomplished novelist, satirist, and garden writer Des Kennedy describes his life journey from a childhood of strict Irish Catholicism in England to a charmed existence amid the gardens of his Gulf Island home in British Columbia. From his First Holy Communion to his days as a young seminarian, through the Beat poetry scene in New York and the social upheavals of the 1960s, this monk-turned-pilgrim pursues a quest for meaning and purpose. After leaving monastic life and moving west, Kennedy takes up a new vocation in what has been called the Church of the Earth. On a rural acreage, he and his partner build their home from recycled and hand-hewn materials and create gardens that provide food as well as a symbiosis with the Earth that is as profoundly spiritual as past religious rituals. Spiced with irreverence and an eye for the absurd, The Way of a Gardener ranges over environmental activism, aboriginal rights, writing for a living, amateur wood butchery, the protocols of small community living, and the devilish obscenity of a billy goat at stud.

Cover Art
Watercolor Flower Artist's Bible - Claire Waite Brown (Editor), New York, New York : Chartwell Books, Inc., 2011.
Call Number: eb ND1403 .C6 .W384 2011eb
ISBN: 9781610583787
This hardcover book with internal wire-o binding is 6.5in x 8in, a perfect size for readers to keep handy in the studio, and reference often. The stylish design of this book, along with the interior photographs, illustrations and diagrams, make the learning process simple and fun for beginning painters and provides useful tips for more advanced artists. This book is divided into three sections. In the first section, you will find practical advice on choosing the necessary tools and equiopment as well as hints on mixing colors—one of the trickier skills to master until you have learned some of the basic properties of color. Next, the techniques used in watercolor painting are explained in detail, from the most basic like laying washes and reserving highlights to some of the more unusual and exciting methods like wax-resist or spattering paint. Tutorials and more than 100 step-by-step sequences demonstrate how to paint a wide range of subjects, including landscapes, buildings, people and still life. Over 180,000 copies sold worldwide.

Cover Art
Vitamin N - Richard Louv, Chapel Hill, North Carolina : Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 2016.
Call Number: eb BF353.5.N37 .L688 2016eb
ISBN: 9781616205614
From the author of the New York Times bestseller that defined nature-deficit disorder and launched the international children-and-nature movement, Vitamin N (for "nature") is a complete prescription for connecting with the power and joy of the natural world right now, with 500 activities for children and adults Dozens of inspiring and thought-provoking essays Scores of informational websites Down-to-earth advice In his landmark work Last Child in the Woods, Richard Louv was the first to bring widespread attention to the alienation of children from the natural world, coining the term nature-deficit disorder and outlining the benefits of a strong nature connection--from boosting mental acuity and creativity to reducing obesity and depression, from promoting health and wellness to simply having fun. That book "rivaled Rachel Carson's Silent Spring" (the Cincinnati Enquirer), was "an absolute must-read for parents" (the Boston Globe), and "an inch-thick caution against raising the fully automated child" (the New York Times). His  follow-up book, The Nature Principle, addressed the needs of adults and outlined a "new nature movement and its potential to improve the lives of all people no matter where they live" (McClatchy Newspapers).Vitamin N is a one-of-a-kind, comprehensive, and practical guidebook for the whole family and the wider community, including tips not only for parents eager to share nature with their kids but also for those seeking nature-smart schools, medical professionals, and even careers. It is a dose of pure inspiration, reminding us that looking up at the stars or taking a walk in the woods is as exhilarating as it is essential, at any age.

Cover Art
Vertical Gardening - Derek Fell, New York, New York: Rodale, 2011.
Call Number: eb SB463.5 .F455 2011eb
ISBN: 9781605290836
The biggest mistake gardeners make each season is starting out too big and then quickly realizing their large plot requires too much weeding, watering, and backbreaking labor. Vertical gardening guarantees a better outcome from the day the trowel hits the soil—by shrinking the amount of "floor" space needed and focusing on climbing plants that are less prone to insects, diseases, and animal pests. Notable author and gardener Derek Fell has tried and tested thousands of varieties of vegetables, flowers, and fruits and recommends the best plants for space-saving vertical gardening. His grow-up, grow-down system also shows which ground-level plants make good companions underneath and alongside climbing plants. Best of all, many of Fell's greatest climbers and mutually beneficial plants are available in seed packets in every local garden center. With a mix of DIY and commercially available string supports, trellises, pergolas, raised beds, skyscraper gardens, and topsy-turvy planters, the vertical garden system reduces work, increases yields, makes harvesting easier, and can be practiced in spaces as small as a container or a one-by-four-foot strip.Vertical Gardening features 100 color photos of the author's own vertical methods and showcases beautiful, troublefree perennials, shrubs, vegetables, annuals, and fruit perfect for this new, rewarding way to garden.

Cover Art
Vegetation of Egypt - M. A. Zahran; A. J. Willis, [Dordrecht, Netherlands] : Springer-​Science+Busines​s Media, B.V., 1992.
Call Number: eb QK403 .Z347 1992eb
ISBN: 9780412315107
The position of Egypt as a cross-road territory between the Middle East and Africa has attracted the attention of naturalists and explorers for many centuries. There have been many thousands of published studies relating to aspects of the ecological and botanical patterns of Egyptian vegetation, but this work draws this information together.

Cover Art
Vegetable Gardening the Colonial Williamsburg Way - Wesley Greene; Barbara Temple Lombardi (Photographer), New York, New York : Rodale, 2012.
Call Number: eb SB320.7.V8 .G744 2012eb
ISBN: 9781609611620
Vegetable Gardening the Colonial Williamsburg Way From the nation's foremost historical preservation site comes a guide to traditional—and still relevant—methods and advice for planting and tending a productive vegetable garden In a colonial-style garden, the broccoli is purple and "turkey" cucumbers grow to three feet long; oiled paper predates plastic for sheltering spring plants; and fermenting manure warms the seedlings. Finding inspiration and value in 18th-century plants, tools, and techniques, the gardeners at Colonial Williamsburg have discovered that these traditional vegetable-growing methods are perfectly at home in today's modern organic gardens. After all, in the 18th century, organic gardening was theonly type of gardening and local produce the only produce available. Author Wesley Greene founded the Colonial Garden in Colonial Williamsburg's Historic Area in 1996. He and his colleagues have painstakingly researched the ways the colonists planted and tended their vegetable and herb beds, most of which are more relevant than ever. Along with historical commentary and complete growing instructions for 50 delicious vegetables, including colonial varieties still available today, gardeners and folklorists will find weather-watching guidelines, planting techniques, and seedsaving advice for legumes, brassicas, alliums, root crops, nightshades, melons, squash, greens, and other curious and tender produce.

Cover Art
Trauma Farm - Brian Brett, Vancouver [B.C.] : Greystone Books, 2009
Call Number: eb S522 .C3 B74 2009eb
ISBN: 9781553654742
Brian Brett’s farm on Salt Spring Island is affectionately known as Trauma Farm. There, he raises chickens, pigs, cows, sheep, and goats, tends an extensive orchard and vegetable garden, concocts fabulous meals from the bounties of the farm, and has various misadventures. This funny and thought-provoking memoir traces one day on Trauma Farm. In it, Brett explores the natural history of the small mixed farm, meditates on the perfection of the egg, offers critiques of factory farms and the slaughtering industry, muses on the uses and misuses of gates, and ponders the constant presence of death as he goes about the activities of farming -- birthing lambs, contending with rats, helping an aged horse to his death. Underlain with deep knowledge of biology and botany, this erudite, witty, and passionate book is an unforgettable portrait of the issues all farms face in this age of industrialization and homogenization.

Cover Art
This Land - Robert H. Mohlenbrock; Mike Dombeck, Berkeley, [California]; Los Angeles, [California]; London, [England]: University of California Press, 2006.
Call Number: eb SD428 .A2 .M645 2006eb
ISBN: 9780520239678
Part armchair travelogue, part guide book, this projected three-volume series--divided into the western, central, and eastern United States--will introduce readers to all 155 national forests across the country. This Land is the only comprehensive field guide that describes the natural features, wildernesses, scenic drives, campgrounds, and hiking trails of our national forests, many of which--while little known and sparsely visited--boast features as spectacular as those found in our national parks and monuments. Each entry includes logistical information about size and location, facilities, attractions, and associated wilderness areas. For about half of the forests, Robert H. Mohlenbrock has provided sidebars on the biological or geological highlights, drawn from the "This Land" column that he has written for Natural History magazine since 1984. Superbly illustrated with color photographs, botanical drawings, and maps, this book is loaded with information, clearly written, and easy to use. This volume covers national forests in: Alaska, Nevada, Arizona, Oregon, California, Utah, Idaho, Washington

Cover Art
The Thinking Beekeeper - Christy Hemenway, Gabriola, B.C. : New Society Publishers, c2013
Call Number: eb SF523 .H46 2013eb
ISBN: 9780865717206
What's the buzz about the growing popularity of backyard beekeeping? Providing habitat for bees, pollinating your garden and producing honey for your family are some of the compelling reasons for taking up this exciting hobby. But conventional beekeeping requires a significant investment and has a steep learning curve. The alternative? Consider beekeeping outside the box. The Thinking Beekeeper is the definitive do-it-yourself guide to natural beekeeping in top bar hives. Based on the concept of understanding and working with bees' natural systems as opposed to trying to subvert them, the advantages of this approach include: simplicity, sustainability and cost-effectiveness  increased safety due to less heavy lifting and hive manipulation    chemical-free colonies and healthy hives. Top bar hives can be located anywhere bees have access to forage, and they make ideal urban hives due to their small footprint. Emphasizing the intimate connection between our food systems, bees, and the wellbeing of the planet, The Thinking Beekeeper will appeal to the new breed of beekeeper who is less focused on maximizing honey yield, and more on ensuring the viability of the bee population now and in the coming years.

Cover Art
Teaming with Fungi - Jeff Lowenfels, Portland, Oregon : Timber Press, 2017.
Call Number: eb SB106 .M83 .L694 2017eb
ISBN: 9781604697292
From the bestselling author of Teaming with Microbes and Teaming with Nutrients   Teaming with Fungi is an important guide to mycorrhizae and the role they play in agriculture, horticulture, and hydroponics. Almost every plant in a garden forms a relationship with fungi, and many plants would not exist without their fungal partners. By better understanding this relationship, gardeners can take advantage of the benefits of fungi, which include an increased uptake in nutrients, resistance to drought, earlier fruiting, and more. Learn how the fungi interact with plants and how to best to employ them in your home garden.

Cover Art
Sustainable Market Farming - Pam Dawling; Lynn Byczynski (Foreword by), Gabriola, B.C. : New Society Publishers, c2013
Call Number: eb SB321 .D39 2013eb
ISBN: 9780865717169
Across North America, an agricultural renaissance is unfolding. A growing number of market gardeners are emerging to feed our appetite for organic, regional produce. But most of the available resources on food production are aimed at the backyard or hobby gardener who wants to supplement their family's diet with a few homegrown fruits and vegetables. Targeted at serious growers in every climate zone, Sustainable Market Farming is a comprehensive manual for small-scale farmers raising organic crops sustainably on a few acres. Informed by the author's extensive experience growing a wide variety of fresh, organic vegetables and fruit to feed the approximately 100 members of Twin Oaks Community in central Virginia, this practical guide provides: Detailed profiles of a full range of crops, addressing sowing, cultivation, rotation, succession, common pests and diseases, harvest and storage Information about new, efficient techniques, season extension and disease resistant varieties Farm-specific business skills to help ensure a successful, profitable enterprise. Whether you are a beginning market grower or an established enterprise seeking to improve your skills, Sustainable Market Farming is an invaluable resource and a timely book for the maturing local agriculture movement.

Cover Art
Sustainable Horticulture in Semiarid Dry Lands - Shrikant Hiwale, New Delhi, India : Springer, 2015.
Call Number: eb SB319.95 .H593 2015eb
ISBN: 9788132222439
This book discusses ways of increasing production/unit area by making full use of the soil and water under the harsh climatic conditions of semiarid areas. This leads to improved sustainability, increased availability of fresh produce, which is vital for human health and higher incomes for small and marginal farmers. Arid and semiarid areas account for almost 70 per cent of the total cropped area of India. In these areas physical constraints like low and erratic rainfall, high temperature, high wind velocity, low fertility, poor soil structure, salinity of soil and ground water all limit reliable crop production. In the absence of any type of aggregation, the soils are highly erodible, lack structure and have a very coarse in texture with low water holding capacity. Intensive agricultural practices, increasing population pressure, climatic changes, environmental pollution, loss of biodiversity, soil erosion, salinization and water depletion are all threatening the sustainability of agriculture. In view of the mounting demand for food, it is vital to link enhanced food production with nutritional security, conservation of natural resources, increasing farmers' incomes, employment generation through agricultural diversification. Horticulture, particularly of fruit trees, can play a major role in solving the problem of nutrition, as fruits are rich source of vitamins and minerals and have antioxidant properties. Fruit trees, which are mostly deciduous, add leaf litter to the soil, and this ultimately helps to improve the condition of the soil. In addition, fruit trees are known to reduce soil erosion and reduce run off. The trees also play a major role in purifying the environment as they are the known carbon sequesters. Fruit-tree cultivation is a profitable preposition. There is no scope to increase the land surface; all increase in productivity therefore has to be from the available land. This means introducing cropping systems that can meet the basic food, fodder and fuel requirement of farming families.

Cover Art
Story Garden - Ellen Buchert (Illustrator); Johanna Buchert Smith, Layton, Utah : Gibbs Smith, 2017.
Call Number: eb SB450.97 .B834 2017eb
ISBN: 9781423645818
Grow stories and cultivate memories with a Story Garden. This charming book of lovely tales is about the magic of self-discovery, memory, and human connections transmitted through botany. The stories are supplemented with simple plant propagation how-tos for the plants that connect to the memories. Start a rosebush from the rose in your wedding bouquet, remember Grandma’s hollyhock from a cutting of the plant by her clothesline, enjoy onions in your garden descending from a gift of an onion at a B&B where you spent a week on a romantic holiday, or plant a balsam fir at the end of the driveway to remind you of Christmas.

Cover Art
The Soil Will Save Us - Kristin Ohlson, [Emmaus, Pennsylvania] : Rodale, 2014.
Call Number: eb S596.3 .O357 2014eb
ISBN: 9781609615543
Thousands of years of poor farming and ranching practices—and, especially, modern industrial agriculture—have led to the loss of up to 80 percent of carbon from the world's soils. That carbon is now floating in the atmosphere, and even if we stopped using fossil fuels today, it would continue warming the planet. InThe Soil Will Save Us,journalist and bestselling author Kristin Ohlson makes an elegantly argued, passionate case for "our great green hope"—a way in which we can not only heal the land but also turn atmospheric carbon into beneficial soil carbon—and potentially reverse global warming. As the granddaughter of farmers and the daughter of avid gardeners, Ohlson has long had an appreciation for the soil. A chance conversation with a local chef led her to the crossroads of science, farming, food, and environmentalism and the discovery of the only significant way to remove carbon dioxide from the air—an ecological approach that tends not only to plants and animals but also to the vast population of underground microorganisms that fix carbon in the soil. Ohlson introduces the visionaries—scientists, farmers, ranchers, and landscapers—who are figuring out in the lab and on the ground how to build healthy soil, which solves myriad problems: drought, erosion, air and water pollution, and food quality, as well as climate change. Her discoveries and vivid storytelling will revolutionize the way we think about our food, our landscapes, our plants, and our relationship to Earth.

How to Search for E-Books

You can search and browse our E-book collection using the Arboretum LIbrary Catalog. Use the ID number on your membership card prefaced by the letters "LA" to login to ebrary.

In the Arboretum LIbrary Catalog select search options to limit your search:

  • Below Simple Search or Advanced Search click Options selected! 
  • Under Limit/view search results click Select Media or Select Collections
  • Mark the E-Books box

How to download E-books using ebrary :

ebrary Videos on YouTube

View LibGuide

View ebrary Support Center

 

If you have any questions please contact the Librarian,Susan Eubank.

Email: Susan.Eubank@Arboretum.org or call 626-821-3213. 

      
     

    E-Books on Drought Tolerant Gardening and Water Conservation

    Cover Art
    The Bold Dry Garden - Johanna Silver; Marion Brenner (Photographer), Portland, Oregon: Timber Press, 2016.
    ISBN: 9781604697728
    A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016 Ruth Bancroft is a dry gardening pioneer. Her lifelong love of plants led to the creation of one of the most acclaimed public gardens, The Ruth Bancroft Garden in Walnut Creek, California. The Bold Dry Garden offers unparalleled access to the garden and the extraordinary woman responsible for it. In its stunningly photographed pages, you'll discover the history of the garden and the design principles and plant palette that make it unique. Packed with growing and maintenance tips, profiles of signature plants for a dry garden, and innovative design techniques, The Bold Dry Garden has everything you need to create a garden that is lush, waterwise, and welcoming.

    Cover Art
    The Desert Gardener's Calendar. - George Brookbank; Brookbank, Tucson, [Arizona] : The University of Arizona Press, 1999.
    Call Number: eb SB453.2.S67 .B66 1999eb
    ISBN: 9780816518944
    What's the best time to plant or prune? When should you fertilize fruit trees? What's the earliest date to set out tomato plants? Gardeners in the desert Southwest can't rely on books that try to cover the whole country. Summer heat, less rain, and shorter, unreliable growing seasons are important factors in the desert. That's why The Desert Gardener's Calendar can be essential to gardening success. Whether you're raising vegetables, nursing citrus trees, or just trying to keep your front yard looking its best, you'll find that this handy book gives you a valuable month-by-month perspective on the year. It helps you to focus on necessary activities and reminds you of simple tasks you might overlook.It's especially valuable for people who've moved to the desert regions from other parts of the country and follow old gardening dates that seldom apply to their new home. The Desert Gardener's Calendar is a guide to the maintenance you need to do to keep your garden flourishing and your landscape attractive throughout the year. It combines the month-by-month gardening and landscaping activities from two separate books by George Brookbank--Desert Gardening, Fruits and Vegetables and Desert Landscaping--and was created in response to readers who have found the calendar sections of those books especially invaluable. And because not all deserts are the same, Brookbank is careful to point out differences in scheduling encountered by gardeners in low- and middle-elevation regions in California and the Southwest. "I believe," says the author, "that if you use this calendar and let your judgment become more accurate with experience, you'll soon be doing everything right." Although that might suggest a day when you don't need this book, chances are good that, if you're a desert gardener, right now you do.

    Cover Art
    Water Reuse for Irrigation - Lazarova Valentina Staff; Valentina Lazarova (Editor); Akica Bahri (Editor)
    ISBN: 9780203499405
    Publication Date: 2004-12-28
    This compilation provides guidelines that facilitate the successful planning and operation of water reuse projects. Offering the information, analysis, and proven experience for agricultural and landscape irrigation, it bridges the gap between fundamental science and relatively uncharted areas of economic, institutional, and liability issues. It delivers a synthesis of information recently emerging in both science and in the practice of irrigation with reclaimed water. The book compiles guidelines, recommendations, and codes of best practices from around the world for all types of recycled water uses, and it examines recent concerns about adverse effects on plants, groundwater, and public health.

    Cover Art
    Desert Landscaping - George Brookbank, Tucson, [Arizona] : The University of Arizona Press, 1992, ©1992
    Call Number: eb SB427.5 .B76 1992eb
    ISBN: 9780816512010
    George Brookbank has distilled nearly twenty years' experience--as an extension agent in urban horticulture with the University of Arizona--into a practical book that tells how to avoid problems with desert landscaping before they occur and how to correct those that do. In the first part, "How to Start and Maintain a Desert Landscape," he provides 28 easy-to-use chapters that address concerns ranging from how to start a wildflower garden to how to cope with Texas root rot. In Part Two, "A Month-By-Month Maintenance Guide," he offers a handy almanac that tells what to do and what to watch out for each month of the year, with cross-references to the chapters in Part One. Homeowners who maintain their own landscape will find in this book ways to make the work more satisfying and productive, while those who hire landscape contractors can make sure the work is done effectively and economically. "You'll find all kinds of books on desert landscape design and materials, irrigation system and design, and landscape installation," says Brookbank. "So far as I know, however, this is the only book that tells you what to do with what you've got and how to keep it growing." CONTENTS Part 1 - How to Start and Maintain a Desert Landscape 1. Desert Conditions: How They Are "Different" 2. Plants Are Like People: They're Not Alike 3. Use Arid-Land Plants to Save Water 4. How to Irrigate in the Desert 5. How to Design and Install a Drip Irrigation System 6. Soils and Their Improvement I: How to Plant in the Desert 7. Soils and Their Improvement II: How to Use Fertilizers 8. What to Do When Things Go Wrong: A Troubleshooter's Guide 9. How to Avoid--and Repair--Frost Damage 10. How to Control "Weeds" 11. Palo Verde Borer Beetle: What to Do 12. How to Avoid Texas Root Rot 13. When You Move Into an Empty House 14. What to Do About Roots in Drains 15. How to Dig Up Plants and Move Them 16. How to Have Flower Bed Color All Year 17. Landscape Gardening with Containers 18. Starting Wildflowers 19. Starting a Lawn 20. Making and Keeping a Good Hedge 21. Pruning Trees and Shrubs 22. Palm Tree Care 23. Caring for Saguaros, Ocotillos, Avages, and Prickly Pears 24. Roses in the Desert: Hard Work and Some Disappointments 25. Landscaping with Citrus 26. Swimming Pools: Plants, Play, and Water-Saving 27. Landscape Maintenance While You're Away 28. Condominiums: Common Grounds, Common Problems Part 2 - A Month-by-Month Maintenance Guide

    Cover Art
    How to Mulch - Stu Campbell
    ISBN: 9781612124452
    Publication Date: 2015-12-30
    Mulching makes your garden and yard much easier to care for, helping to retain moisture, keep weeds in check, and protect young plants. This concise guide shows you exactly how to mulch for any situation, covering sheet mulching, feeding mulches, and living mulches for use in the yard, garden, and home landscape. It even includes a quick-reference chart of mulch types and a section on mulching for success with specific vegetables.    

    Cover Art
    Sustainable Landscaping For Dummies - Owen E. Dell
    ISBN: 9780470480588
    Publication Date: 2009-02-10
    Sustainable Landscaping For Dummies provides hands-on, how-to instruction for realizing the benefits of a sustainable landscape, from selecting sutainable hardscape materials to installing a rain-water catchment system to choosing native plants.

    Cover Art
    The Conscientious Gardener - Sarah Hayden Reichard; Peter Raven (Foreword by); Sarah Reichard
    ISBN: 9780520947283
    Publication Date: 2011-01-19
    In his influential A Sand County Almanac, published at the beginning of the environmental movement in 1949, Aldo Leopold proposed a new ecological ethic to guide our stewardship of the planet. In this inspiring book, Sarah Hayden Reichard tells how we can bring Leopold's far-reaching vision to our gardens to make them more sustainable, lively, and healthy places. Today, gardening practices too often damage the environment: we deplete resources in our own soil while mining for soil amendments in far away places, or use water and pesticides in ways that can pollute lakes and rivers. Drawing from cutting edge research on urban horticulture, Reichard explores the many benefits of sustainable gardening and gives straightforward, practical advice on topics such as pest control, water conservation, living with native animals, mulching, and invasive species. The book includes a scorecard that allows readers to quickly evaluate the sustainability of their current practices, as well as an extensive list of garden plants that are invasive, what they do, and where they should be avoided.

    Cover Art
    Eco-Yards - Laureen Rama
    ISBN: 9781550924664
    Publication Date: 2011-02-08
    Sick of the backyard battle? Using simple steps presented in clear, easy-to-follow language, Eco-yards shows you how environmentally sound practices can restore the natural ecosystem and turn your yard into an eco-friendly sanctuary.

    Cover Art
    The Wildlife-Friendly Vegetable Gardener - Tammi Hartung
    ISBN: 9781603428651
    Publication Date: 2013-12-31
    This one-of-a-kind book shows you how to create a peaceful co-existence between your vegetable garden and the wildlife who consider it part of their habitat. By understanding and working with the surrounding environment - instead of continually fighting it - you'll reap a larger harvest with much less stress and effort. Tammi Hartung explains how to start with a hardy and healthy garden, create beneficial relationships through smart planting, attract helpful insects and pollinators, intentionally create habitats for wildlife, and much more.

    Cover Art
    Mulch It! - Stu Campbell
    ISBN: 9781603422086
    Publication Date: 2012-05-04
    Weeding. Watering. Soil improvement. Frost and heat protection. Wouldn't it be wonderful if these gardening and landscaping chores could be simplified with one easy method? They can! This book is a reader's guide to the gardener's secret weapon for healthy, carefree and beautiful gardens and landscapes - mulch. Advice on every kind of mulch and on how to use mulches on everything from landscape plantings to vegetable gardens makes this the one book that gives readers everything they need to know to use mulch most effectively.

    Cover Art
    Landscaping on the New Frontier - Susan E. Meyer; Roger K. Kjelgren; Darrel G. Morrison; Bettina Schultz; William A. Varga
    ISBN: 9780874217100
    Publication Date: 2009-04-01
    A practical volume for the home or business owner on landscaping with native, drought-tolerant plants in the Rocky Mountain West. Filled with color illustrations, photos, and design sketches, over 100 native species are described, while practical tips on landscape design, water-wise irrigation, and keeping down the weeds are provided. In this book you will learn how to use natural landscapes to inspire your own designed landscape around your business or home and yard. Included are design principles, practical ideas, and strong examples of what some homeowners have already done to convert traditional "bluegrass" landscapes into ones that are more expressive of theWest. Landscaping on the new Frontier also offers an approach to irrigation that minimizes the use of supplemental water yet ensures the survival of plants during unusually dry periods. You will learn how to combine ecological principles with design principles to create beautiful home landscapes that require only minimal resources to maintain.

    The Desert Garden - Irina Springuel
    ISBN: 9781936190010
    Publication Date: 2006-01-01

    Cover Art
    Creating Your Eco-friendly Garden - Mary Horsfall
    ISBN: 9780643096202
    Publication Date: 2008-01-01
    How to develop an environmentally friendly garden for little cost.

    Cover Art
    The New Ornamental Garden - Simon Rickard
    ISBN: 9780643101760
    Publication Date: 2011-01-01
    A practical, fresh look at garden-worthy plants for Australian conditions.

    Cover Art
    Hellstrip Gardening - Evelyn Hadden; Joshua McCullough (Photographer)
    ISBN: 9781604696103
    Publication Date: 2014-04-22
    The hellstrip--the space between a street and a public sidewalk, also known as a tree park, boulevard, meridian, and planting strip--is finally getting the attention it deserves! Gardeners everywhere are taking advantage of the space as an environmentally friendly way to add curb appeal to their homes, expand the size of their gardens, and conserve resources. Hellstrip Gardening by Evelyn Hadden, the author of the acclaimed Beautiful No-Mow Yards, is the first book to show you exactly how to reclaim this oft-ignored space. This comprehensive guide covers how to determine the city and Home Owner's Association rules governing the area, how to choose plants that thrive in tough situations, how to design pathways for accessibility, and much more. Gorgeous color photographs of hellstrip gardens across the country offer inspiration and visual guidance to anyone ready to tackle this final frontier. With Hellstrip Gardening in hand, you can finally create the paradise you want in the most unexpected of places!

    Cover Art
    Agaves - Greg Starr
    ISBN: 9781604694000
    Publication Date: 2013-06-27
    Gardeners and garden designers are having a love affair with agaves. It's easy to see why—they're low maintenance, drought-tolerant, and strikingly sculptural, with an astounding range of form and color. Many species are strikingly variegated, and some have contrasting ornamental spines on the edges of their leaves. Fabulous for container gardening or in-the-ground culture, they combine versatility with easy growability. In Agaves, plant expert Greg Starr profiles 75 species, with additional cultivars and hybrids, best suited to gardens and landscapes. Each plant entry includes a detailed description of the plant, along with its cultural requirements, including hardiness, sun exposure, water needs, soil requirements, and methods of propagation. Agaves can change dramatically as they age and this comprehensive guide includes photos showing each species from youth to maturity—a valuable feature unique to this book.

    Cover Art
    Waterwise Plants for Sustainable Gardens - Lauren Springer Ogden; Scott Ogden
    ISBN: 9781604693362
    Publication Date: 2011-11-03
    In recent years, gardeners have faced increased water-use restrictions, and it's not limited to dry-climate areas like the Southwest. There are restrictions in Connecticut, Massachusetts, Georgia, Florida, and North Carolina. And even for gardeners with no water restrictions, low-water plants are key to a sustainable garden. Waterwise Plants for Sustainable Gardens is a practical guide to the best 200 plants guaranteed to thrive in low-water gardens. Plant entries provide the common and botanical name, the regions where the plant is best adapted, growth and care information, and notes on pests and disease. This practical and inspiring guide includes a variety of plants, from trees to succulents, perennials to bulbs, all selected for their wide adaptability and ornamental value. Companion plants, creative design ideas, and full color photography round out the text.

    Cover Art
    High-Impact, Low-Carbon Gardening - Alice Bowe
    ISBN: 9781604693119
    Publication Date: 2011-04-25
    The environmental benefits of gardens are well-known: trees and plants capture carbon emissions, help to moderate the urban climate, promote health and well being, and help reduce energy consumption. But some garden practices are downright damaging, like using leaf blowers and other power tools, installing impermeable paving, and choosing plants that require excessive water or artificial fertilizers. High-Impact, Low-Carbon Gardening is a one-stop reference for making a garden more green. From simple actions like composting household waste, installing a water barrel, or eliminating pesticides to more long-term investments like choosing permeable, locally sourced paving, and planting the most water-wise plants, there are hundreds of large and small choices home gardeners can make to reduce the environmental impact of designing, planting, and tending a garden. High-Impact, Low-Carbon Gardening goes beyond organics and compost and gives serious gardeners all the information they need to make their garden truly green.

    Cover Art
    Covering Ground - Barbara W. Ellis
    ISBN: 9781612122168
    Publication Date: 2012-11-09
    Looking for an alternative to a traditional lawn? Covering Ground explores hundreds of wonderful possibilities. Flowering plants, herbs, mosses, ground-hugging shrubs, and heathers, planted singly or in creative combinations, can add interest, elegance, and drama to otherwise dull and ordinary areas. And hardscape options, such as bluestone, crushed gravel, brick, or shredded bark mulch, can create pathways and define borders. You'll be inspired by these low-maintenance, creative ideas, and Barbara Ellis includes all of the information you need to successfully select, plant, and care for the ground covers that you choose.

    Cover Art
    Modern and Traditional Irrigation Technologies in the Eastern Mediterranean - Ozay Mehmet; Hasan Ali Bic¸ak
    ISBN: 9781552503041
    Publication Date: 2002-01-01
    A water crisis is threatening several regions of the world. In the Middle East and North Africa, the crisis is serious and getting worse. Contributing factors include mismanagement of water resources, population trends and explosive urban growth, structural imbalance between demand and available resources, and a dearth of water-related information. This book presents an analysis of irrigation technologies used in the Eastern Mediterranean region, both past and present. It discusses the reuse of wastewater and other conservation technologies through case studies from Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, North Cyprus, and Turkey. It presents a multidisciplinary view of the water crisis, with discussion in the disciplines of economics, hydrology, agronomics, engineering, and environmental sciences. As a sequel to Water Balances in the Eastern Mediterranean, this book will be of interest to policymakers, researchers, academics, and development professionals working in the areas of water management and Middle Eastern studies.

    Cover Art
    Water Use Efficiency for Irrigated Turf and Landscape - Geoff Connellan
    ISBN: 9780643106888
    Publication Date: 2013-01-01
    Covers all aspects of water management in irrigated urban open space areas and how to achieve high water use efficiency.

    Cover Art
    Turfgrass and Landscape Irrigation Water Quality - R. R. Duncan; Robert N. Carrow; Michael T. Huck; Ronny R. Duncan
    ISBN: 9781420081947
    Publication Date: 2008-12-17
    With the increased use of alternative irrigation water sources on turfgrass and landscape sites, their management is becoming more complex and whole ecosystems-oriented. Yet few turfgrass managers have received formal training in the intricacies of irrigation water. Turfgrass and Landscape Irrigation Water Quality: Assessment and Managementprovides a comprehensive, science-based review of irrigation water quality. The book examines field problems in a logical manner, provides clear scientific explanations, and offers detailed practical information for resolving each specific problem in an environmentally sustainable manner. Divided into four parts, the book begins with an overview of the assessment of irrigation water. It discusses factors that affect the quality of water, assists readers in understanding irrigation water quality tests, and examines field monitoring. The second part focuses on explaining scientific irrigation water quality situations or challenges associated with various water sources, including saline, seawater, and reclaimed irrigation water, as well as stormwater reuse. The next section explores management options for site-specific problems. The authors discuss irrigation system design when confronted with poor quality water, salt leaching, water acidification, and turfgrass nutritional considerations, and discusses lake, pond, and stream management and other water issues. Lastly, the text addresses potential environmental concerns related to irrigation water sources on the watershed/landscape level. The book contains several case studies which further clarify the material and provides a comprehensive appendix list of landscape plants and their relative salinity tolerances. The diversity and nature of various water quality related challenges are quite daunting, even for the most seasoned professional. This volume provides a foundation for understanding the complexities of water quality that is certain to lead to science-based management decisions that are environmentally friendly and sustainable for years to come.

    Cover Art
    Water-Efficient Landscaping in the Intermountain West - Heidi A. Kratsch; Heidi Kratsch (Editor)
    ISBN: 9780874217902
    Publication Date: 2011-04-01
    This working manual provides complete information on the technical aspects of designing, building, and maintaining waterwise landscapes in the Mountain West. Written particularly for professionals, including landscape designers, architects, contractors, and maintenance and irrigation specialists, it has an attractive, well-illustrated, user-friendly format that will make it useful as well to DIY homeowners and to educators, plant retailers, extension agents, and many others. The manual is organized according to landscape principles that are adapted to the climate of the intermountain region. Beginning with planning and design, the topical principles proceed through soil preparation, appropriate plant selection, practicalities of turfgrass, use of mulch, and irrigation planning, winding up with landscape maintenance. Designed for onsite, handy use, the book is illustrated with color images of landscapes, plants, and materials. Tables, charts, diagrams, landscape plans, plant lists, checklists, and other graphic resources are scattered throughout the manual, which is written in an accessible but information-rich style. Water-Efficient Landscaping in the Intermountain West answers, more comprehensively than any other single book, the need for professional information that addresses both growing awareness of the necessity for water conservation and the desire for beautiful, healthy yards and properties.

     

    More New E-Books!

    Cover Art
    66 Square Feet - Marie Viljoen, New York : Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2013.
    Call Number: eb TX649 .V545 .V555 2013eb
    ISBN: 9781617690501
    South Africa-born Marie Viljoen captures the hearts of her readers as she blogs about cooking and gardening on her tiny 66-square-foot terrace in Brooklyn. Named one of the top 10 gardening blogs by Apartment Therapy and the Discovery Channel, 66 Square Feet has also been covered in the New York Times. The book draws the reader into Viljoen’s beautiful world of unfolding city seasons as she forages through New York City and harvests from her garden to create elegant and inspiring meals that encourage the reader to pause and savor life. Each chapter is a month, and ends in the kitchen, with a menu inspired by her terrace and roof gardens, farmer’s markets, and the occasional weed. Set against a backdrop of growing up in South Africa and moving to the United States, meeting her French husband, and finding a culinary and emotional home in Brooklyn, Viljoen’s book is a love letter to living seasonally in the most famous city on the planet. Praise for 66 Square Feet "The book is easy to love. The photos are alluring, the typography and graphics are charming and the menus, divided by month, offer beautiful, seasonal delights.” --San Jose Mercury News

    Cover Art
    100 Plants to Save the Bees - The Xerces Society
    Call Number: eb QK926 .P536 2016eb
    ISBN: 9781612128863
    The international bee crisis is threatening our global food supply, but this user-friendly field guide shows what you can do to help protect our pollinators. The Xerces Society for Invertebrate Conservation offers browsable profiles of 100 common flowers, herbs, shrubs, and trees that attract bees, butterflies, moths, and hummingbirds. The recommendations are simple: sow seeds for some plants -- such as basil, rhododendron, and blueberries -- and simply don't mow down abundant native species, including aster, goldenrod, and milkweed. 100 Plants to Feed the Bees will empower homeowners, landscapers, apartment dwellers -- anyone with a scrap of yard or a window box -- to protect our pollinators.

    Cover Art
    101 Organic Gardening Hacks - Shawna Coronado, Minneapolis, Minnesota : Cool Springs Press, 2017.
    Call Number: eb SB453.5 .C676 2017eb
    ISBN: 9781591866626
    Create simple solutions for growing organic gardens! The word "hack" has a multitude of meanings these days, but if you ask garden author Shawna Coronado what a hack is, she might just wave her hand toward her own back yard. She could be pointing at the garden bench she created from leftover wood posts and a few cinder blocks, or the rows of wine bottles buried soldier-style along a winding pathway, or even the garden soil itself, which is blended by hand from an organic soil recipe she devised. A hack is really just a great idea that's come to life. In 101 Organic Garden Hacks you'll find the top tips, tricks, and solutions Shawna has dreamed up in her career as one of America's most creative gardeners. Some are practical timesavers; others offer clever ways to "upcycle" everyday items in your garden. One characteristic every hack shares is that they are completely organic and unfailingly environmentally friendly. Divided into a dozen different categories for easy reference, each hack is accompanied by a clear photo that shows you exactly how to complete it. If you are looking for resourceful ways to improve your garden and promote green living values right at home, you'll love paging through this fascinating, eye-catching book.

    Cover Art
    Abundant Beauty - Marianne North; Laura Ponsonby (Introduction by), Vancouver [B.C.] : Greystone Books, c2010
    Call Number: eb QK31 .N67 A3 2010eb
    ISBN: 9781553655411
    In 1871, Marianne North, a brilliant artist with a keen interest in botany, set-forth to travel the world on a quest to paint indigenous plants in their natural habitat. Encouraged by her friend Charles Darwin, North travelled by boat, train, mule, foot and palanquin to every continent except Antarctica. She circled the globe twice over fifteen years and accumulated an extensive and valuable collection of more than eight hundred paintings, which today comprise the esteemed Marianne North Gallery at the Royal Botanical Gardens at Kew, London. North--high-spirited, indefatigable, and brave--also kept detailed journals, which were posthumously published in three volumes in the late 1800s. Abundant Beauty collects the most engaging writings from those journals in one edition, including rich descriptions of botanica and delightful accounts of local people and customs from her sometimes dangerous travels. Abundant Beauty is a fascinating and informative read for botanists, gardeners, historians, and armchair travellers.

    Cover Art
    Advanced Top Bar Beekeeping - Christy Hemenway, Gabriola Island, British Columbia : New Society Publishers, 2017.
    Call Number: eb SF523 .H464 2017eb
    ISBN: 9780865718098
    Bee populations are plummeting worldwide. Colony Collapse Disorder poses a serious threat to many plants which rely on bees for pollination, including a significant proportion of our food crops. Top bar hives are based on the concept of understanding and working with bees' natural systems, enabling top bar beekeepers to produce honey and natural wax while helping bees thrive now and in the years ahead. Advanced Top Bar Beekeeping picks up where The Thinking Beekeeper left off, providing a wealth of information for backyard beekeepers ready to take the next step with this economical, bee-friendly approach. Author Christy Hemenway shares: Guidance and techniques for the second season and beyond An in-depth analysis of the dangers climate change and conventional agriculture present to pollinators An inspiring vision of restoring bee populations through organic farming and natural, chemical-free beekeeping. While continuing to emphasize the intimate connection between our food system, bees, and the wellbeing of the planet, Advanced Top Bar Beekeeping breaks new ground in the quest to shift the dominant agricultural paradigm away from chemical-laden, industrial monoculture and towards healthy, diverse local farming. See what all the buzz is about with this must-read guide for the new breed of thinking beekeeper.

    Cover Art
    Wildfire on the Mountain - John Alcock, Tucson, [Arizona] : University of Arizona Press, 2017.
    Call Number: eb SD421.32.A7 .A43 2017eb
    ISBN: 9780816534036
    Swallowtail butterflies frolic on the wind. Vireos and rock wrens sing their hearts out by the recovering creek. Spiders and other predators chase their next meal. Through it all, John Alcock observes, records, and delights in what he sees. In a once-burnt area, life resurges. Plants whose seeds and roots withstood an intense fire become habitat for the returning creatures of the wild. After the Wildfire describes the remarkable recovery of wildlife in the Mazatzal Mountains in central Arizona. It is the rare observer who has the dedication to revisit the site of a wildfire, especially over many years and seasons. But naturalist John Alcock returned again and again to the Mazatzals, where the disastrous Willow fire of 2004 burned 187 square miles. Documenting the fire's aftermath over a decade, Alcock thrills at the renewal of the once-blackened region. Walking the South Fork of Deer Creek in all seasons as the years passed, he was rewarded by the sight of exuberant plant life that in turn fostered an equally satisfying return of animals ranging from small insects to large mammals. Alcock clearly explains the response of chaparral plants to fire and the creatures that reinhabit these plants as they come back from a ferocious blaze: the great spreadwing damselfly, the western meadowlark, the elk, and birds and bugs of rich and colorful varieties. This book is at once a journey of biological discovery and a celebration of the ability of living things to reoccupy a devastated location. Alcock encourages others to engage the natural world--even one that has burnt to the ground.

    Cover Art
    American Chestnut - Susan Freinkel, Berkeley, California ; Los Angeles, California; London, [England]: University of California Press, 2007.
    Call Number: eb QK495 .F14 .F745 2007eb
    ISBN: 9780520259942
    The American chestnut was one of America's most common, valued, and beloved trees--a "perfect tree" that ruled the forests from Georgia to Maine. But in the early twentieth century, an exotic plague swept through the chestnut forests with the force of a wildfire. Within forty years, the blight had killed close to four billion trees and left the species teetering on the brink of extinction. It was one of the worst ecological blows to North America since the Ice Age--and one most experts considered beyond repair. In American Chestnut, Susan Freinkel tells the dramatic story of the stubborn optimists who refused to let this cultural icon go. In a compelling weave of history, science, and personal observation, she relates their quest to save the tree through methods that ranged from classical plant breeding to cutting-edge gene technology. But the heart of her story is the cast of unconventional characters who have fought for the tree for a century, undeterred by setbacks or skeptics, and fueled by their dreams of restored forests and their powerful affinity for a fellow species.

    Cover Art
    Aquaponic Gardening - Sylvia Bernstein, Gabriola, B.C. : New Society Pub., 2011
    Call Number: eb SB126.5 .B47 2011eb
    ISBN: 9780865717015
    Aquaponics is a revolutionary system for growing plants by fertilizing them with the waste water from fish in a sustainable closed system. A combination of the best of aquaculture and hydroponics, aquaponic gardening is an amazinglyproductive way to grow organic vegetables, greens, herbs and fruits, while providing the added benefits of fresh fish as a safe, healthy source of protein. On a larger scale, it is a key solution to mitigating food insecurity, climate change, groundwater pollution and the impacts of overfishing on our oceans. Aquaponic Gardening is the definitive do-it-yourself home manual, focused on giving you all the tools you need to create your own aquaponic system and enjoy healthy, safe, fresh and delicious food all year round. Starting with an overview of the theory, benefits and potential of aquaponics, the book goes on to explain: System location considerations and hardware components The living elements-fish, plants, bacteria, and worms Putting it all together-starting and maintaining a healthy system. Aquaponics systems are completely organic. They are four to six times more productive and use 90 percent less water than conventional gardens. Other advantages include no weeds, fewer pests, and no watering, fertilizing, bending, digging, or heavy lifting - in fact, there really is no down side! Anyone interested in taking the next step towards self-sufficiency will be fascinated by this practical, accessible and well-illustrated guide.

    Cover Art
    The Art of Paper Flowers - Bobby Pearce; Rosie O'Donnell (Foreword by), Beverly, Massachusetts : Quatro Publishing Group, 2016.
    Call Number: eb TT892 .P437 2016eb
    ISBN: 9781589239364
    Now an Amazon Editors' Holiday Gift Pick for Design, Construct, and Create! Fill your home with paper flowers! They're easy to make, lovely to look at, and best of all--they'll never wilt! Paper is pretty much the least expensive craft material you'll find. It's also one of the most versatile. With a pile of colored sheets, a pair of scissors, and The Art of Paper Flowers, you can create gorgeous bouquets to give away or keep for yourself. For anyone who's an avid home crafter or future home-decor online vendor, this book will get your creative juices flowering, err, flowing. The Art of Paper Flowers makes it easy for anyone to create beautiful roses, orchids, tulips, and more--completely out of paper. There are thirty-five flowers included in the book, and each pattern is accompanied by a complete list of materials required, step-by-step instructions for creating the flower, original paper-folding techniques from the author, full-size patterns, and color photos for reference. Additionally throughout the book, there are interesting bits of trivia, myths, or folklore for each delicate flower. The book also includes a foreword by Rosie O'Donnell. All the basic information is here in The Art of Paper Flowers for readers to make their own impressive paper flower bouquets. From mastering the skill of paper manipulation to achieving seamless gluing and coloring practices, you'll make flowers look incredibly realistic. Whether you're creating gifts, decorations for an event, or home decor, The Art of Paper Flowers will have you arranging stunning flowers in no time!

    Cover Art
    Backyard Bounty - Linda Gilkeson, Gabriola, B.C. : New Society Publishers, c2011
    Call Number: eb SB453.5 .G538 2011eb
    ISBN: 9781550924749
    This practical guide is packed with simple, low-maintenance methods to produce the most organically grown food all year round from any home garden. With advice on soil preparation, composting, seeding, watering, mulching, pruning, winter crop planting schedules, greenhouses and more, as well as a wealth of information specific to the West Coast climate, Backyard Bounty will get you growing.

    Cover Art
    Beatrix Potter's Gardening Life, Portland, Oregon : Timber Press, [2013] - Marta McDowell
    Call Number: eb PR6031 .O72 Z74 2013eb
    ISBN: 9781604693638
    "An enchanting and original account of Beatrix Potter's life and her love of plants and gardening." --Judy Taylor, vice president of the Beatrix Potter Society There aren't many books more beloved than The Tale of Peter Rabbit and even fewer authors as iconic as Beatrix Potter. More than 150 million copies of her books have sold worldwide and interest in her work and life remains high. And her characters--Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddle Duck, and all the rest--exist in a charmed world filled with flowers and gardens. Beatrix Potter's Gardening Life is the first book to explore the origins of Beatrix Potter's love of gardening and plants and show how this passion came to be reflected in her work. The book begins with a gardener's biography, highlighting the key moments and places throughout her life that helped define her, including her home Hill Top Farm in England's Lake District. Next, the reader follows Beatrix Potter through a year in her garden, with a season-by-season overview of what is blooming that truly brings her gardens alive. The book culminates in a traveler's guide, with information on how and where to visit Potter's gardens today.

    Cover Art
    Beekeeping for Dummies - Consumer Dummies Staff; Howland Blackiston, Hoboken, New Jersey: For Dummies, 2017.
    Call Number: eb SF523 .B533 2017eb
    ISBN: 9781119310068
    Everything you need to 'bee' a successful backyard beekeeper If you've ever thought about becoming a backyard beekeeper'or have already tried a hand at it and want to be better one'then this is the book for you! In Beekeeping for Dummies, 4th Edition you'll find everything you need to know in order to start your own colony, including how to assemble and maintain beehives, handle every phase of honey production, purchase and use all the latest tools, and what to do beyond your first season. This hands-on guide provides all the tools, tips, tricks, and techniques needed to become a real backyard beekeeper. You'll learn to identify the queen from her workers and drones, properly open and close the hive, distinguish one type of honey from another, and preserve your colony if disaster should strike. Keep bees on a small urban rooftop or in a large country yard Assemble your own hive and sustain it for years to come Safely inspect and manage your colony Harvest and sell your own honey Becoming a backyard beekeeper isn't as hard as people think'and with this hands-on guide, you'll be able to create one honey of a colony that will have the neighbors buzzing.

    Cover Art
    The Big Book of Nature Activities - Jacob Rodenburg; Drew Monkman, Gabriola, British Columbia: New Society Publishers, 2016.
    Call Number: eb QH54.5 .R634 2016eb
    ISBN: 9780865718029
    The average child can identify over 300 corporate logos, but only 10 native plants or animals—a telling indictment of our modern disconnection from nature. Soaring levels of obesity, high rates of ADHD, feelings of stress and social awkwardness and "Nature Deficit Disorder" are further unintended consequences of a childhood spent primarily indoors. The Big Book of Nature Activities is a comprehensive guide for parents and educators to help youth of all ages explore, appreciate and connect with the natural world. This rich, fully illustrated compendium features: Nature-based skills and activities such as species identification, photography, journaling and the judicious use of digital technology Ideas, games and activities grounded in what's happening in nature each season Core concepts that promote environmental literacy, such as climate change and the mechanisms and wonder of evolution, explained using a child-friendly, engaging approach Lists of key species and happenings to observe throughout the year across most of North America. Perfect for families, educators, and youth leaders, The Big Book of Nature Activities is packed with crafts, stories, information and inspiration to make outdoor learning fun!

    Cover Art
    Bokashi Composting - Diego Adam; Adam Footer, Gabriola, British Columbia : New Society Publishers, 2013.
    Call Number: eb S661 .F66 2014eb
    ISBN: 9780865717527
    Bokashi is Japanese for "fermented organic matter." Bokashi composting is a safe, quick, and convenient way to compost in your kitchen, garage, or apartment, using a specific group of microorganisms to anaerobically ferment all food waste (including meat and dairy). Since the process takes place in a closed system, insects and smell are controlled, making it ideal for urban or business settings. The process is very fast, with compost usually ready to be integrated into your soil or garden in around two weeks. While bokashi has enjoyed great popularity in many parts of the world, it is still relatively unknown in North America. From scraps to soil, Bokashi Composting is the complete, step-by-step, do-it-yourself guide to this amazing process, with comprehensive information covering: Background-the history, development and scientific basis of the technique Getting started-composting with commercially available products or homemade systems Making your own-system plans and bokashi bran recipes using common materials and locally sourced ingredients Growing-improving your soil with fermented compost and bokashi juice. This essential guide is a must-read for gardeners, homeowners, apartment dwellers, traditional composters, and anyone who wants a safe, simple, and convenient way to keep kitchen waste out of the landfill.

    Cover Art
    A Book of Bees - Sam Potthoff (Illustrator); Sue Hubbell, New York : Open Road Integrated Media, 2017.
    Call Number: eb SF523 .H83 2017eb
    ISBN: 9781504042451
    A New York Times Notable Book: "A melodious mix of memoir, nature journal, and beekeeping manual" (Kirkus Reviews). Weaving a vivid portrait of her own life and her bees' lives, author Sue Hubbell lovingly describes the ins and outs of beekeeping on her small Missouri farm, where the end of one honey season is the start of the next. With three hundred hives, Hubbell stays busy year-round tending to the bees and harvesting their honey, a process that is as personally demanding as it is rewarding.   Exploring the progression of both the author and the hive through the seasons, this is "a book about bees to be sure, but it is also about other things: the important difference between loneliness and solitude; the seasonal rhythms inherent in rural living; the achievement of independence; the accommodating of oneself to nature" (ThePhiladelphia Inquirer). Beautifully written and full of exquisitely rendered details, it is a tribute to Hubbell's wild hilltop in the Ozarks and of the joys of living a complex life in a simple place.  

    Cover Art
    Celebrating Soil - Megan R. Balks; Darlene Zabowski, [Cham, Switzerland] : Springer, 2016.
    Call Number: eb S591 .B355 2016eb
    ISBN: 9783319326825
    This richly illustrated book celebrates the diversity, importance, and intrinsic beauty of soils around the world and helps the reader to understand the ways that soils are related to the landscapes in which they form. The book unravels the complex bond between humans and soils and the importance of soils in our cultures and everyday lives. Soil is critical to terrestrial life on earth.  It underpins human food supply and provides materials on which we build our lives.  Soil is out of sight and often out of mind, thus easy to overlook.  Yet soil has tremendous variety and intrinsic beauty for those who care to look.  Soil contains a memory of the events that have shaped the landscape and the environment.  With help you can look at a soil and understand the stories that it has to tell.    Written in a reader-friendly way, Celebrating Soil is a wonderful resource for farmers, horticulturalists, naturalists, students and others who are concerned about how soils are formed, work and are used.

    Cover Art
    Chillies - Heather Arndt Anderson, London : Reaktion Books, 2016.
    Call Number: eb TX803 .P46 A53 2016eb
    ISBN: 9781780236353
    There are some of us who can't even stand to look at them--and others who can't live without them: chillies have been searing tongues and watering eyes for centuries in innumerable global cuisines. In this book, Heather Arndt Anderson explores the many ways nature has attempted to take the roofs of our mouths off--from the deceptively vegetal-looking jalapeno to the fire-red ghost pepper--and the many ways we have gleefully risen to the challenge.             Anderson tells the story of the spicy berry's rise to prominence, showing that it was cultivated and venerated by the ancient people of Mesoamerica for millennia before Spanish explorers brought it back to Europe. She traces the chilli's spread along trading routes to every corner of the globe, and she explores the many important spiritual and cultural links that we have formed with it, from its use as an aphrodisiac to, in more modern times, an especially masochistic kind of eating competition. Ultimately, she uses the chili to tell a larger story of global trade, showing how the spread of spicy cuisine can tell us much about the global exchange--and sometimes domination--of culture. Mixing history, botany, and cooking, this entertaining read will give your bookshelf just the kick it needs.  

    Cover Art
    The Chinese Kitchen Garden - Wendy Kiang-Spray, Portland, Oregon: Timber Press, 2017.
    Call Number: eb SB351 .C54 .S587 2017eb
    ISBN: 9781604696776
    A beautiful introduction to growing and cooking with the variety, deliciousness, and healthfulness of Chinese cuisine!   Wendy Kiang-Spray's family has a strong culinary and gardening tradition. In The Chinese Kitchen Garden, she beautifully blends the story of her family's cultural heritage with growing information for 38 Chinese vegetables--like lotus root, garlic, chives, and eggplant--and 25 traditional recipes, like congee, dumplings, and bok choy stir-fry. Organized by season, you'll learn what to grow in spring and what to cook in winter. 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip