This is the "May-June 2017" page of the "What's New in the Tower Hill Botanic Garden Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

What's New in the Tower Hill Botanic Garden Library  

Learn about new resources, exhibits and programs in the library.
Last Updated: May 11, 2017 URL: http://cbhl.libguides.com/whatsnew_current Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
May-June 2017 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Books in the Library: May/June 2017

Here are some of the great new titles we've recently added:

Backyard Roots: Lessons on Living Local from 35 Urban Farmers / Lori Eanes

Cutting Back: My apprenticeship in the Gardens of Kyoto / Leslie Buck. An engaging story of gardens and culture; a Bay Area landscape designer decided to learn more about something she always loved and headed to Japan for a life changing stay in Kyoto.

Garden Photography Workshop / Andrea Jones. Learn the basics or learn techniques to improve what you already know -- then head outside to put your new knowledge into action!

The Magic of Children's Gardens: Inspiring through Creative Design / Lolly Tai. A whirlwind tour of the best children's gardens to be found today.

Urban Farm Handbook: City Slicker Resources for Growing, Raising, Sourcing, Trading, and Preparing What You Eat / Annette Cottrell

 

And New for Children:

Bee and Me / Alison Jay

Karl, Get Out of the Garden: Carolus Linnaeus and the Naming of Everything / Anita Sanchez

Interested to borrow any of these titles?  We make it easy...members may borrow materials for one month at a time and you can stop by or contact us by phone (508-869-6111 x116) or email (kbell@towerhillbg.org).  

 

SPOTLIGHT on Upcoming Programs

Tower Hill Library's 6th Annual Gardening Book Swap will once again take place on Plant Sale Saturday (May 20th) from 9 to 3 alongside the Garden Shop's Annual 20-70% Clearance Sale in the Limonaia. Click here for more information.

What's a book swap? A chance to bring gently used gardening books you no longer need and swap them for new-to-you titles you can use. We always say: "Bring Some / Take Some" but the reality is you can just bring or just take books. If you have a lot of books you wish to donate to the Library, please contact us in advance to arrange a drop off before May 20th. Please email: kbell@towerhillbg.org or call 508-869-6111 x116 for questions or to make arrangements.

WCHS Founders Walking Tour: Take a stroll around the old Horticulural Society neighborhood starting at Worcester Common and proceeding up Front St. to Main and onto Elm; learn who lived where, what they grew, how they helped the Society, and the early WCHS meeting places. Co-sponsored by Preservation Worcester; Thursday evening, June 1st and Sat. June 24th; Register here; you'll receive more information and instructions about where to meet upon registration.

 

Main Street, 1839. Image courtesy of Preservation Worcester.

Ongoing through September 2017: Remembering the WCHS Spring Exhibitions: An Oral History Project. Did you or your family attend the old exhibitions at 30 Elm Street? Were you involved with planning or arranging? Did you win any awards? What are your recollections? We'd like to hear your memories and record them for our archives.

 

The Biodiversity Heritage Library

Our Annual Reports (Transactions of the WCHS) dating back to the 1840's may now be found on the Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) site in addition to Digital Commonwealth. We are honored to be a part of this prestigous collection that provides free access to the world's most significant biodiversity literature, and very appreciative they will digitize another round of unique institutional records from our achives. 

If you're not familiar with this important resource, please take some time to look at the wide range of items they feature, including some of the most stunning botanical art and natural images you'll find anywhere. Sign up for their blog, follow them on instagram; there are many ways to stay connected and it'll be time well spent!

Image from Pears of New York; a variety often exhibited at WCHS fruit exhibitions. Read more about the exhibitions in Transactions of the WCHS.

 

The Library's Book Group

Our book group just ended our 6th year of reading great books about gardening.  Our theme this year was 'Gardening Classics' and we read a variety of new and old favorites, including Old Time Gardens Newly Set Forth by Alice Morse Earle, Garden Open Today by Beverley Nichols, Our Life in Gardens by Joe Eck and Wayne Winterrowd, and Home Ground by Allen Lacy.

If you're looking for a good book, you can't go wrong with any of these titles, and all of these authors have multiple books if you happen to take a liking to one in particular. What makes a book a 'gardening classic'? We found that gardening know-how plus a love of the topic, along with a sense of humor are important ingredients!

We'll announce our 2018 titles in the fall if you're interested to join us.

    

 

Tower Hill Library Basics

Our beautiful library is open Tu, Th and Sat from 10 to 4 year around on the lower level of the Stoddard Building. Please check the library website for general information about our programs and services or call (508-869-6111 x116) or email (kbell@towerhillbg.org) with your questions or requests.

All are welcome and you'll find the library is an inviting place to visit before or after spending time in the gardens. We have comfortable chairs to sit and catch up with a wide variety of gardening journals and an extensive collection of garden literature for all ages and abilities.  Our children's section offers books, puzzles, games, a couch to sit and read a story and a 'please touch' interactive table with natural items to study more closely.  We always have interesting exhibits featuring materials from our archives, and we're a great place to learn more about the history of the Worcester County Horticultural Society which dates back to the 1840's.

Tower Hill members may borrow books and videos and we loan binoculars and guidebooks.  How may we help you?

 

Now on Exhibit

Agriculture, Horticulture and Mechanics: Three Organizations, Three Anniversaries. View historic materials about three Worcester County organizations and the connections they shared; on display through September 2017. 
 

Looking Back: The WCHS Spring Exhibition. For 85 years the Spring Show was the place to be in late February/early March in Worcester. Learn more about this Rite of Spring through items from our archives. On display through September 2017. 

 

Our New Banner

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip