Helen Fowler Library: Archival Collections

Research appointments during regular library hours:

Tuesday - Sunday
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed Mondays

To make a research appointment or for research assistance, contact library staff at library@botanicgardens.org

To explore what materials are held in the archival collections visit Denver Botanic Gardens ArchivesSpace. This is where finding aids for the archival collections can be found. Finding aids are descriptions that typically consist of contextual and structural information about an archival resource. Due to the nature of archival descriptions, there are some terms and concepts that will be seen when searching the materials that may require explanation:

• Scope and contents - a brief description of the range of materials within a collection. This will contain a generalized explanation of what kinds of object are and are not found within each collection.
• Arrangement - a brief explanation of how the materials in the collection have been organized. Most frequently used are alphabetically, chronologically, or in the original order that items were accessioned into the collection
• Agent - a person or institution that can be linked to each collection
• Provenance - the history of ownership of the materials within

When beginning a search, the home page is the first thing you will see. From here, you can browse by clicking the links at the top of the page or begin searching with the search bar.

Using the keyword search will almost always be the simplest way to find what you are looking for. When keyword is selected under 'Search field,' every single description will be searched for items matching the words typed into the search bar. You can also add as many rows to the search as needed to narrow your search results. The search function uses boolean parameters, this quick guide from the University of Minnesota may be helpful in understanding.

Your search results will appear like the below image.

ArchivesSpace does not show results in order of best match but rather by "broadest" to "narrowest" category. Entire collections with matching information will be shown first, followed by any agents and subjects that have the term or are linked to records that have the term, and finally individual files or items whose descriptions contain the term.

If the search results are too broad, they can be further narrowed under 'Filter Results' on the right side of the page: you can click on any of the filter categories listed or search for additional terms that will search through only the results already there.

Within the search results, if you click on a collection or file, you will be taken to a page like the below image.

Here you will find more information about the collection or record. To the right of the screen, you will find an expandable hierarchy of the collection. Here you can browse through other materials that fall under a similar category to the item you are searching for.

Once you have found materials that you would like to research in person, scroll to the bottom of the page of the file or item description where you will find physical storage information (below image). When you book a research appointment with the archivist, supply this information so the archivist knows which boxes to have ready for you at your appointment.

Please be aware that few materials are described in detail and if you require assistance, contact the archivist as they may be able to help you narrow down any search results.

All Denver Botanic Gardens historic newsletters and annual reports are digitized and available to view online. Materials were digitized and made accessible through two separate grants, so contents are split between different websites.

Biodiversity Heritage Library

• Green Thumb, 1944-1989
• Green Thumb Newsletter, 1965-1983
• Green Thumb News, 1983-2001
• Mountain, Plain and Garden

Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection

• Annual Reports, 1972-2020
• Denver Botanic Gardens newsletters, 2001-2004
• Inside the Gardens

A copy of the following rules and etiquette will be presented for the researcher to sign upon arrival for their appointment:

• The rare books, archives, and special collections are non-circulating collections. all materials must be used within the reading room and cannot be checked out or removed from the library.
• Use of the materials is by appointment only. Please contact Helen Fowler Library staff to set up an appointment to use materials. Please make appointment at least 24 hours in advance as preparing materials will take time.
• Library staff will be present during all appointments to monitor and answer any questions.
• Coats, backpacks, handbags, and other personal items must be put in a locker before using the reading room.
• No food or drink is permitted in the Reading Room including water, candy, and gum.
• Materials must be handled with care. Any special handling procedures given by library staff must be followed.
• Hands must be washed before using materials: cotton or nitrile gloves must be worn if requested.
• ONLY PENCIL may be used for taking notes: use of pens, highlighters, or other ink or permanent marking items is not permitted.
• Do not mark material or erase existing marks.
• Do not fold, tear, or cut any of the materials.
• Do not make rubbings or tracings of the materials.
• Do not place other items on top of the materials.
• Do not touch the surface of the materials; photographs can be damaged and ink on older documents can smudge and be transferred onto other documents. Handle materials by edges whenever possible.
• Researchers must receive permission from library staff to photocopy, scan, or photograph material: when photographing, flash must be turned off.
• When using archival material, work with one box at a time. Provided slips of paper can be used to track the place in box where a folder was removed. Items must be kept in the order they were in each box and folder.
• Items should be laid on table when using, not held in hands.
• Books should be supported with cradles and pages held open with light weights provided to prevent stress on bindings.
• Permission to publish or copy any materials must be requested and approved.
• Researcher assumes full responsibility for conforming to laws of libel, copyright, and literary property rights when quoting or publishing material. Please follow copyright regulations or ask library staff for assistance when citing materials in these collections.
• All materials will be inspected by library staff attending the Reading Room prior to guest leaving to be sure all materials have been returned and that all materials have been returned in the same condition.
• Any additional requests by library staff in regards to handling, copyright, or general Reading Room use must be followed.