CBHL 49th Annual Meeting
The ABCs of CBHL:
Art, Books, and Collections
Andersen Horticultural Library
located at the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
June 6-10, 2017
Meeting / Activities Schedule
[Note: times & activities will continue to be updated and may change]
Tuesday, June 6 - Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, 591 W. 78th St. Chanhassen, MN 55317
8:30 – 5:30 Registration
8:30 - 11:30 Pre-conference workshop [registrants only] - Contributing to a National Digital Infrastructure – with help every step of the way (National Leadership Grant project team) - An "Expanding Access to Biodiversity Literature" Biodiversity Heritage Library project. *Note: this workshop is at the Arboretum; transportation to and from the Arboretum will be provided.
Lunch on your own
11:30 - 5:30 Committee meetings
6:30 – 8:30 Opening reception
Links for the day: www.countryinns.com/chanhassenmn , www.cbhl.net/committees
Wednesday, June 7 - University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum (UMLA)
8:00 – 8:45 Hotel & Arboretum shuttle buses will ferry attendees from Conference Hotel to the UMLA in shifts. Gather in the Snyder Building Auditorium
8:50 – 9:00 Welcome, housekeeping & introductions – Kathy Allen, Librarian, Andersen Horticultural Library
9:00 – 9:25 Introduction to the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum – Peter C. Moe, Arboretum Director
9:25 – 9:45 Education and Extension at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum - Tim Kenny, Director, Education Dept.
9:45 – 10:00 Snack break
10:00 – 10:55 Speaker: David Bedford
11:00 – 12:00 Member presentations
12:00 – 12:45 Lunch
12:45 – 2:00 Business Meeting 1
2:00 - 2:15 Break
2:15 – 4:30 Split into 3 groups and rotate through activities (45 minutes each: 2:15-3:00; 3:00-3:45; 3:45-4:30):
A. Andersen Horticultural Library tour + rare books +seed catalogs
B. Garden tour with guide
C. Free time (Gift Store, wander on own, rest, network!)
4:30 – 6:00 Tram ride around 3-Mile Drive & Tashjian Bee & Pollinator Discovery Center
6:15 - Arboretum shuttle buses will ferry attendees back to the Conference Hotel in shifts.
Dinner on your own
Links for the day: www.countryinns.com/chanhassenmn , www.arboretum.umn.edu , www.lib.umn.edu/ahl
Thursday, June 8 - Tour day
8:15 – 9:15 Bus from Conference Hotel to University of Minnesota- Twin Cities (East Bank)
Gather in 555 Diehl Hall (adjacent to the Wangensteen Library)
9:15 – 10:00 Split into 2 groups, then switch (20 minutes each) + grab coffee, tea in 555 Diehl:
A. Wangensteen Historical Library of Biology & Medicine: tour + rare book showing
B. Wangensteen Library stacks/behind-the-scenes
10:00 – 11:10 Member presentations
11:15 – 11:30 Split into UM Libraries-led groups to Walk to Weisman Art Museum (Frank Gehry design): Dear Darwin exhibit
11:45 – 12:00 Walk across bridge over Mississippi River to Elmer L. Andersen Library (West Bank). Gather in Room 120
12:00 – 12:45 Lunch
12:45 – 2:15 Split into two groups, then switch (45 minutes each):
A. Minnesota Library Access Center (MLAC) cavern tour with Archives & Special Collections curator
B. Children's Literature Research Collection Curator talk (Lisa Von Drasek), plus view original mss. and artwork by Anne Ophelia Dowden, Betsy Bowen, Phyllis Root, and Jane Yolen.
2:15 – 2:55 Member Presentations
3:05 – 4:00 Collection Stewardship discussion
4:10 – 4:40 Bus to Minneapolis Institute of Art (Mia)/Eat Street area
4:45 – 7:00 Free time to explore Mia and/or eat dinner. Or, do both! Inside MIA there is an excellent cafe, Agra Culture, which specializes in healthy, sustainable, chef-crafted food.
7:00 – 7:45 Bus travel to Conference Hotel
Dinner on your own (either Downtown (see above) or in Chanhassen after bus returns)
Links for the day: Elmer L. Andersen Library , MLAC Cavern , Children's Literature Research Collections , Weisman Art Museum , Wangensteen Library , Mia , Eat Street
Friday, June 9 - University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
8:00 – 8:40 Hotel & Arboretum shuttles ferry attendees to the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum, Snyder Auditorium
8:45 - 11:15 Business Meeting 2 (includes 15 min break)
11:15 - 11:30 Break
11:30 - 1:00 Joint CBHL - Friends of AHL Buffet Luncheon, Speaker: Mira Nakashima
1:00 - 1:30 Free time + three 10-minute small group tours of AHL furnishings with Mira as guide (CBHL only)
1:30 – 4:00 Split into 2 groups, then switch (1 hour each, ½ hour in between)
A. Arboretum Behind-the-scenes bus tour (includes, Horticultural Research Center, orchards/vineyards, much more!) – Jeffrey Johnson, guide
B. Small Interest Group discussions: Book Sales, Book Clubs, Friends groups, Children’s Collections/StoryTimes, others. Discussion groups will run during the whole time, about 45 minutes each, a few concurrently. Or, enjoy free time.
4:00 – 5:30? Business Meeting 3, if needed, followed by Member News
5:30 - 6:00 Move to Oswald Visitor Center, Reedy Gallery: Cash Bar, Snacks; Annoucement of Annual Literature Award winner
6:00 – 8:30 MacMillan Auditorium: Banquet, including Book Raffle and Speaker: David Zlesak
8:30 - Arboretum shuttle buses start ferrying attendees back to the Conference Hotel in shifts.
Saturday, June 10 - Post-Conference Study Tours
Option 1: Limit 13. 9am - 4pm (time approximate).
Bus tour to Twin Cities: FOOD/NATURE. Includes Mill City Museum, Mill City Farmers Market, U of M Raptor Center tour, Como Park & Zoo, and Terrace Horticultural Books. Lunch on own during the tour.
Option 2: Limit 10. 9am - 3:30pm (time approximate).
Bus tour to Twin Cities: ART/BOOKS. Includes stops at the newly revamped Walker Art Center/Minneapolis Sculpture Garden (great news: museum admission is free this day!), Minnesota Center for Book Arts tour, and time at Birchbark Books. Lunch on own during the tour (suggest Kenwood Restaurant).
