Skip to main content
site header image

Arboretum Library: Other Library Catalogs, Resources
& the Used Book Store

The Arboretum Library contains a comprehensive collection of resources on gardening, botany, California native plant life, environmental issues, and some agriculture as these subjects relate to the plants native to and planted in Southern California.

CBHL

TerriMando_Flower

The Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries, Inc. (CBHL) is an international organization of individuals, organizations and institutions concerned with the development, maintenance and use of libraries of botanical and horticultural literature.

The purpose of CBHL is to initiate and improve communication and coordinate activities and programs of mutual interest and benefit to its membership.

Biodiversity Heritage Library

bhl_moths

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL consortium works with the international taxonomic community, rights holders, and other interested parties to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts, the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and over 100,000 volumes.

The Helen Crocker Russell Library of Horticulture

Helen Crocker Russell Library of Horticulture - Exterior

The Helen Crocker Russell Library of Horticulture,established in 1972, is northern California's most comprehensive horticultural library. The library houses approximately 27,000 volumes and 350 plant and garden periodicals. The library collections cover all aspects of horticulture including gardening, garden design, botanical art, ethnobotany and pest management, with an emphasis on plants grown in Mediterranean and other mild temperate climates. The library also features a 1,600-volume children's botanical library, Sunday children's story time programs and botanical art exhibitions.

Elisabeth C. Miller Library

Seattle Japanese Garden - UW Botanic Gardens - Washington Park Arboretum

Over 14,000 books on gardening techniques, selecting and growing ornamental plants, vegetable and herb gardening, pests and diseases, garden design and history, gardens to visit, horticulture in an urban environment, botany and plant ecology, and native floras from around the world makes ours the most extensive horticulture collection of any Pacific Northwest library open to the public. 

The Santa Barbara Botanic Garden-Blaksley Library

Santa Barbara Botanic Garden and Cathedral Peak

The Garden's library, established in 1927, includes over 15,000 books and journals, representing an important resource for education and research. The Blaksley Library building, designed by local architect Lutah Maria Riggs and completed in 1942, provides beautiful mountain views in a courtyard setting. Special collections include rare books, photos, manuscripts, and horticultural catalogs.

The Arboretum Library on ABE Books!

The Arboretum Library sells used plant and garden books through abeboooks.com.  Click the link above to see our offerings.  Come back often. New items are constantly added.  CLOSED DUE TO COVID-19 STAY AT HOME REGULATIONS.  WE WILL BE BACK!

Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden

Ranch Santa Ana Botanic Garden

The library at Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden (RSABG) specializes in systematic, floristic and evolutionary botany and the botany, horticulture, natural history and ethnobotany of California. It provides library support services for the staff and students of RSABG, members and volunteers of the organization, members of The Claremont Colleges and the general public.

 

WorldCat

WorldCat

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.

WorldCat.org lets you:

·Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby

·Find books, music, and videos to check out

·Find research articles and digital items (like audiobooks) that can be directly viewed or downloaded

 Post your review of an item, or contribute factual information about it

The Arboretum Library provides interlibrary loan services to Los Angeles Arboretum Foundation members.  Ask the Librarian.

Arboretum Library